Sorry internet, I’m just not that into you

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

– Hebrews 12:1

FB_IMG_1501328865991

Good day people of WordPress πŸ™‚

As many of you know I have been away from the blog for a while and enjoying a vacation away from the sad devastation of post humanity most people call the internet, TV, movies…

Although I miss the interaction with some of the friends I have made online through blogging, I have to say in all honesty that I don’t miss my former steady diet of hot garbage even a little. In fact, I think shunning electronic time wasters has made me a better person and I know for a fact it has brought me closer to God.

Now, instead of checking Facebook while in line at the store and at every stoplight like most people in our dumb and perpetually distracted society do (I actually saw someone playing on their phone while riding a bike the other day) I watch, look, listen and, whenever I have a chance, interact with real people out in the real world which has been an incredible blessing to me.

Just this morning I stopped to talk to then prayed with a homeless man outside of a convenience store which would not have happened if I didn’t notice him or couldn’t be bothered because checking to see who commented on or liked my latest blog post in the past five minutes or my Facebook notifications were more important.

Not saying that living my life largely off line (and somewhat out of touch, really) makes me better than anyone, mind you, but I am saying it has been amazing for me and everyone should try it at least for a time. Believe me, you won’t be sorry.

In addition to spending  more time in the world interacting with and ministering to real people, I have really ramped up my physical training in preparation for my first triathalon which takes place tomorrow morning.  Yeah, it’s only a sprint, not an Ironman or anything, as one of my friends told me yesterday, but it’s still going to be quite a feat for someone who has never been much into racing of any kind before.

Anyway, I can’t wait to see how it goes, I’m kinda nervous and kinda excited at the same time.

God bless everyone,

James

Categories: Christianity, Fitness

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Best wishes with the race! I can empathize with 99 percent of your post — i.e., everything but the triathlon. I frequently deactivate my Facebook account for months (and only reactivated it overnight because I linked to an album in today’s blog post). Facebook has made me lose respect for most of my friends, so it’s better for everyone involved if I avoid scrolling through my newsfeed.
    I also tend to avoid the news. The Bible tells us not to worry (about North Korea or anything else), so what’s the point in reading about missile tests, murders, and other things I can’t do anything about? God undoubtedly led you to take a tech break so you would help that homeless person. Keep it up. Who knows how many other people you may help.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting.

      I definately agree with you about Facebook, except for Twitter, it’s the worst. I have an account that I very rarely check anymore and, when I do check, I never comment on or like anything, ever.

      You are also right about the news but most of what is out there these days isn’t the news it pretends to be anyway so avoiding it doesn’t make anyone less informed.

      I do believe God led me to take a break and it is well worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Prayers for a wonderful triathlon! Make sure you keep your fun on!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That means, just about now, you are racing. Good luck James

    Like

  4. Wow good stuff! Good to hear from you brother

    Liked by 1 person

  5. God Bless you Brother in Christ Jesus-Yeshua James and Your Family members and Friends!!

    Praise Jesus-Yeshua Christ for Today and Everyday, HE is KING of kings and LORD of lords, HE is the ALPHA and OMEGA!! Glory Glory Hallelujah and Maranatha!!

    Our ONE True GOD’S LOVE πŸ’™πŸ’• is ETERNAL THROUGH HIS SON Jesus-Yeshua Christ Forevermore!!

    I Love you all Everyone through Jesus-Yeshua, because HE LOVED πŸ’™πŸ’• EVERYONE FIRST!!

    Love πŸ’™πŸ’• Always and Shalom ( Peace ), YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree with you that it could be beneficial to stay off social media, especially when one feels the need to declutter the mind or get in touch with real people as you did in your case.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing
  2. The Weekly Headlines – August 12th – posted 13 August – Br Andrew's Muses

Leave a Reply

