I doubt anyone dies wishing they’d spent more time blogging

As many of you probably know, I have been on a bit of a self-imposed internet fast for the past couple of weeks and, I have to say, I really don’t miss the silly distraction as much as I thought I would. In fact, I’m rather enjoying the time away.

Today, during some down time at the office which has historically been used for surfing the net and writing blog posts, I unfollowed a bunch of useless Facebook pages and removed the WordPress, Facebook, and Instagram apps from my phone entirely. Who knows how long this will last but, right now anyway, it feels very liberating. 

Which brings me to something that’s been on my mind lately.

I doubt anyone on Earth will lay on their death bed wishing they could have got one more snarky burn in on Twitter, argued with one more idiot, or written one more blog post.

Categories: Christianity, Misc.

Tags: , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Oh but the joy knowing you will be welcomed back time and time again:) WordPress, a good place to share your thoughts and heart. Blessings as you enjoy Summer. PS: I have enjoyed reading your blog:)

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks Denise, I appreciate that very much.

      I have enjoyed writing the blog and interacting with its readers. It just takes too much time away from things I enjoy more and forces me to spend too much time online which is an increasingly awful place.

      God bless,

      James πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m thinking I should take a break too. Why do we hang onto this so tightly? I guess it started out for me as a mission, but now I feel a genuine connection to several people I follow. You are right get though. No one is going to die if I’m not here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love blogging, but it isn’t the most important thing in my life. There are other priorities that come first.

    When I don’t get to work on my blog, I really miss it.

    Like

  4. The connections and the learning at the knee of others has been such a blessing…but I understand that sense of responsibility to posting and posting wisely and well…it is demanding…and when I have taken some time away…and I find I miss some of it but not all of it and that my life is full enough without it…I am reminded that this too is a ministry and a platform in which to share the Word of God—and so I am drawn back..time and time again….

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Love blogging and learning from it. Not the biggest thing in my life but its true, it isn’t the thing one wish to spend more time in

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It kind of depends upon why we blog for. For me it is educational. I have to remember that the number of hits I get on my blog is not the measure of my success.

    Julie put it well.

    Do what you think wise. Go where our Lord leads you.

    Liked by 2 people

Trackbacks

  1. The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

