Just drink a milkshake and relax

Yesterday someone asked me if I was following the latest Trump “scandal”. I’m not, not really anyway, here’s why.

Mr. Blond was a psychopath in [the movie] Reservoir Dogs, but he did see this point clearly. While everyone was driving themselves batty trying to figure out if Mr. Blue was alive or dead, or free or caught by the cops, he just shrugged as he drew some milkshake up a straw: “He’s either alive, or he’s dead, or the cops got him, or they don’t.” All true.

His perspective on many things was bent, but on this point he was being sensible: We don’t have the information to answer that question, and sitting around yelling at each other and trying to puzzle the answer out from the same three pieces of entirely-inadequate information is a huge waste of time as well as one’s limited supplies of psychic energy. I don’t mean like psionics. I just mean the whole combination of emotional/cognitive energy in the brain.

So anyway: Trump may have done something very wrong. Or something somewhat wrong. He might be in trouble, or maybe he’s not.

Mr. Blond would recommend that no amount of deductive brainwork can gift someone with the clairvoyance to see remote places, and no amount of emotional investment can sculpt the stone of reality.

So, just sip the milkshake, and think about the things within your direct power to discover or alter.

I was going to add to this but it’s been a busy week so I am just going to say that this is great food for thought, especially if you are someone who is usually inclined to invest a ton of emotional energy into something you can’t possibly know much about and definitely can’t change.

Categories: Christianity, Misc.

7 replies

  1. Ha! Great piece and words of wisdom, too.
    Yesterday someone was speaking to me of Trump and I had no idea what they were even referring to so I quipped, “Russians?” Apparently that was the right answer.
    It was somewhat comical because for my entire life that has been the answer for everything. Back in the day you could just look up in the sky and say, “Yep, darn Russians are winning the space race.” The more things change, the more they stay the same. There is nothing new under the sun.
    Sometimes I take great comfort in the wisdom to be found in Ecclesiastes, which I suppose, is a bit like the wisdom of Mr Blond.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Russians have been good boogey men for years and not without good reason, vilifying them has proved effective.

      Problem now a days, generally anyway, is that people are all up in arms over issues and scandals they know absolutely nothing about.

      I drove by some people yesterday who were protesting the new health care legislation and wished I could stop and ask them if they read the bill and what, specifically, they didn’t like about it. Odds are they had no clue.

      Anyway, the debate is dumb so I’m opting out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi James
    Well said, although I have been neglecting to invest much if any emotional energy in this whole thing for months now. On most days I don’t think about Donald Trump, Russians, James Comey, or the whole lot of those yahoos. Honestly, nothing they do will change one iota of the way I live my life. For those very concerned about it all, this is very good advice, especially the part about milk shakes. I may take that to heart today in fact.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I was going to add to this but it’s been a busy week so I am just going to say that this is great food for thought, especially if you are someone who is usually inclined to invest a ton of emotional energy into something you can’t possibly know much about and definitely can’t change.”<–Good perspective

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

