NOW I LAY ME …

 

38fd211bb6b94e583b052e694e73911c

 

38fd211bb6b94e583b052e694e73911c

When I was a child, I was taught to pray – Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep.  If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord, my soul to take. Angels watch me through the night, and wake me with the morning light. After this simple prayer I would ask God’s blessings on all my family, the pets, grandmas, grandpas and aunts and uncles. Things have changed since those innocent days of my youth.

Now my prayer list is getting so long, I often fall asleep before I’ve completed all the of them. The older you get, the more folks you need to pray for. There are those with serious illnesses, those who need God in their life to make it complete, those who have strayed from Him, those who feel life isn’t worth living anymore. There are the aged, the young adults starting their families, the teens who face unheard of stress and temptation and the children who are depending on good examples in their lives.

God invites us to talk to Him and it’s good to go to Him with our troubles, but we should also go to Him when things are going well and give Him the thanks He deserves. Many times we can’t find the right words. When that happens, God still provides a way for us to communicate with Him.

Romans 8:26 says “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.”

Dear, Lord, it’s a privilege to come to you in prayer.  Your Son made that possible, by shedding His blood for me, a sinner.  Thank you for giving us an open line to you at any time of the day or night. Even my inadequate words are interpreted, through your Holy Spirit, in the right way. You control every inch of my existence.  Amen!

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Loved your post! I thought I was the only one that fell asleep before my prayer list was finished. Thank goodness for mornings so that I can finish them! Thanking and praising, not just asking. Thank you for sharing! P. S. Don’t forget to pray for Nabeel Qureshi !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

