Do you grieve the Holy Spirit of God?

On my way to work this morning, the radio station I listen to asked listeners to call in and tell them how technology has made their lives easier and/or better.

image

“And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.”

– Ephesians 4:30

The Holy Spirit is a mighty and wonderful presence in the life of the believer because He guides us to do what is right and convicts us when we do, or when we are about to do, what is wrong.

The problem with Christianity today however, is that too many of us disregard what the Holy Spirit is telling us in favor of what society tells us, which can have a serious negative impact on our walk with God; a walk whose path is not lit by societal ideals and a walk that does not need or desire worldly approval or direction.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

– Romans 12:2

We live in a world we are told not to conform to which is hard, I get that.

We also live in a world that offers a great many sinful and distracting things that seem appealing, desirable, and rewarding, I get that too.

What’s important for Christians to remember is that those seemingly appealing, desirable, and rewarding things are temporary, they only satisfy the flesh, they are often from the devil himself, and they can lead to death.

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

– Romans 6:23

Don’t grieve the Holy Spirit by ignoring His wise counsel or reducing his guidance to that of a goody two shoes angel on your shoulder who only exists to ruin your fun.

He is with you for a reason, He was sent by God, and His guidance is life changing and lifesaving, listen to Him.

What the Holy Spirit has been warning me about lately is technology. Not that technology is inherently bad in the eyes of God but because so much of what I tend to do with it annoys, angers, frustrates, distracts, and convicts me.

And all of those things constantly grieve the Holy Spirit of God.

So, I guess if I were to call the radio station I would tell them that technology has made my life easier in many ways but, generally, not much better. I often find myself longing for the days when I typed college papers on a typewriter, had only three channels on the TV, had to retrieve an encyclopedia from the shelf if I wanted to look something up, and played outside because I didn’t have an endless variety of electronic distractions to keep me entertained.

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Great post. As a pastor I listen to said, it may not be that people are ignoring the holy spirit — they just can’t HEAR the holy spirit over their iPod, their TV, or whatever else they’re listening to. How many people do you know who can just sit in silence?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

