HYPOCRISY

quote-affectation-is-to-be-always-distinguished-from-hypocrisy-as-being-the-art-of-counterfeiting-those-samuel-johnson-382402ORIGINALLY POSTED ON ATIMETOSHARE.ME 4-17-17

The word hypocrisy is defined as the practice of claiming to have moral standards or beliefs to which one’s own behavior does not conform; pretense.  Being an actor and one who teaches acting, I guess I could be labeled a hypocrite.  Getting in front of an audience as a character from a play could really be construed as faking it.

The fact is each of us is guilty of being a hypocrite at some time or another.  Even Peter, the rock solid man of God, became weak when push came to shove.  As believers we cannot be susceptible to reason or logic when it comes to our beliefs.  We must be willing to stand strong and firm in faith and the power of the Holy Spirit and the very truth of God’s own words.

Not always easy, is it?  Peter had Jesus right with him and yet when asked if he was one of Jesus’ disciples, he said he didn’t know Him.  How often do we deny our Savior?  Are we willing to literally lose our head because of Him?  I stand in awe of those who are currently being persecuted for their beliefs.  I honestly don’t know if I would be able to profess my faith in such a way.

I think God knows that too.  He knows our weaknesses and faults much better than we do.  He knows how much we can bear.  He knows what our limits are.  He created each one of us, so He knows everything about us.

God, forgive my weaknesses as only you can.  Walk with me each day, each hour, every minute and second and give me the strength to honor you in any way I can.  When I falter, lift me up and give me the courage to stand tall for you.  With you all things are possible. Amen!

 

Categories: Christianity, Contributors

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

