Just doing some triathalon training around the house

Kind of a different take on the Fitness Friday post today…

Many of you know I have started triathalon training recently and have two races comming up, one late summer and another early fall.

That being said, the only formal working out I’ve done this week will be an 18 mile bike ride this evening.

What? Triathalon training and not going to the gym for a week?

May seem counterintuitive or downright lazy but I have been using life, in the form of projects around the house,  for my workouts instead.

I’ve been up and down a ladder repairing siding on my chimney and fixing a water damaged soffit. I’ve cleaned out a few flower beds, repaired the doors on my shed, built a planter out of pallet wood, unloaded a truck at the food pantry, cut my grass, and moved a big stack of lanscape wood from one place in my yard to another where it will sit until I figure out what to do with it.

The reason I said all that is to say that working out doesn’t necessarily have to involve running shoes and a gym as long as you are active and moving.

So, if you wanted to start getting in better shape for short, tank top, and bathing suit season but haven’t been able to get motivated, get started with some spring cleaing projects.

  • Clean the windows
  • Clean leaves off the roof
  • Get your flower beds ready for planting
  • Straighten out the garage
  • Put a fresh coat of paint on something
  • Rent a power washer and clean up the deck, patio, driveway, sidewalk…
  • Get an area in your yard ready for a garden so you can grow fresh veggies

If you’re like most people, there is pleanty to do around your house and much of it involves some work, some muscle, and some cardio. And, if you’re like me, you’ll not only have the satisfaction of a job well done at the end of the day, you’ll also make your wife happy and that is always a good thing 🙂

Categories: Misc.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

