So, will I be able to take a nap?

In his first letter to the church in Corinth, Paul discusses the great differences between our earthly bodies and our resurrected bodies (see 1 Corinthians 15:35-54). Contrasting our earthly bodies with the splendor of our heavenly (resurrected) bodies, Paul says, “The body that is sown is perishable, it raised imperishable it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory, it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power, it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body.

In short, our resurrected bodies are spiritual, imperishable, and raised in glory and power.

That’s some good stuff right there, I can’t wait. But here’s my “just a thought” on the matter.

With all the imperishable glory and power, will there ever be a need to take a nap? If not I won’t complain but I do wonder what eternity would be like sans one of the earthly things I find (on the rare occaison I have time) emensly enjoyable.

This was inspired by my good blogging friend Wally Fry over at Truth in Palmyra.

Categories: Christianity, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. I’ve wondered this. I have to think that a perfect body would not require rest, but hey, God rested. And I’d be bummed to lose out on the brilliantly imaginative screenwriter that is my subconscious when I start dreaming. It’s like going to the movies!

    But either way, I doubt we’re going to be disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the shout out James!

    I often wonder myself if some of the things we so enjoyed here will bless us there myself.

    @Brandon..yeah, either way we won’t be disappointed!

    Like

  3. I suggest we all begin to pray for naps in heaven…. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I somehow think we would be taking naps in the new heaven and new earth…just a hunch, no verses.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

