Are Roman Catholics Christian?

I was recently asked by an atheist who, for his own enjoyment, loves to stir up conflict among believers where there often isn’t any if I thought Roman Catholics were true Christians. So, without intending to cause trouble or offend Catholics who read the blog, here is my answer.

Catholics are indeed Christians if they have trusted in Jesus alone for the forgiveness of their sins. However, if they believe they are saved by God’s grace and their works, then they are not saved–even if they believe their works are done by God’s grace–since they then deny the sufficiency of Christ’s sacrifice.

Being a Christian does not mean being a member of the Roman Catholic Church. It means being a member of the body of Christ, which is accomplished by faith and trust in Jesus alone for the forgiveness of your sins. It means you do not add your works to His work. Sincerity doesn’t forgive sins. Membership in a church doesn’t forgive sins. Doing works of penance doesn’t forgive sins. Praying to Mary doesn’t forgive sins. Forgiveness is received in the faithful trust and acceptance of Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross.

You must trust Jesus, God in flesh, for the forgiveness of sins–not a man-made ritual and certainly not the catholic saints.

Even though the Roman Catholic Church affirms the Trinity, the deity of Christ, and His physical resurrection, it greatly errors in its doctrine of salvation by adding works to salvation.

Categories: Christianity

13 replies

  1. My two cents.

    There are many Catholics who are excellent Christians, and there are many Christians who are lousy Protestants.

    There are many Christians who are excellent Protestants, as there are many Catholics who are lousy Christians.

    ‘In my Father’s house are many mansions,’ a truth that all professing believer’s take to heart. No one denomination has the safe and key to the vault of all truth. Only God Himself through the person of Christ Has this key.

    In the end, the question is: Do you have life? Not, what church did you attend. Fellowship is a large bus….and its too bad some believers make other believers ‘walk……………’

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Love those words of Colorstorm’s. “There are many Catholics who are excellent Christians, and there are many Christians who are lousy Protestants. There are many Christians who are excellent Protestants, as there are many Catholics who are lousy Christians.” Amen.

    The urge to stir up strife is powerful in some. Separate, divide, control, it’s a tactic of warfare. I like how the bible tells us to, “preserve the unity,” not to create it or fight for it, but to simply preserve it because it’s already a given. So, just start singing, “Nothing but the Blood…” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I agree with CS—of course they are…and then there are those who aren’t—just like all the other “Christians” out there—some of us are and sadly some are not….

    Like

  4. I am a born again Christian that works in a Catholic school. There are many things I like about working in a Catholic school, but there are also many things my spirt struggles with. My two many ones are firstly the teaching that as long as you are good and nice to others you will go to heaven. The bible is very clear that just because you’re good doesn’t mean you will go to heaven. I also struggle greatly when the children are taught to pray to Mary. Again the bible is very clear about who we should be praying to. In my opinion the constant elevation of Mary, which at times is above Jesus is wrong, and I struggle when the children have to say the Hail Mary. Having said this though, I believe God has placed me in my current position to quietly pray and impart blessings upon the staff and children I come in contact with. Because of this I will stay there till God tells me otherwise. I believe our job as Christians is not to judge and condemn, but seek the Holy Spirits guidance and be ready to go where he sends us and to speak truth and love to those we come in contact with.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There will be no denominations in Heaven and anyone can claim to be a Christian and be so far from Christ-like. As an ex Catholic – your explanation seems accurate to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think it was good you centered on salvation by grace as your dividing line of what is and what is not a Christian.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jim. Salvation by Grace is the big difference between Catholics and Protestants as I understand their faith.

      I actually know quite a few Catholics who are exceptionally good people, better by human standards than some in my own church. They do however believe in theology that I think is eternally dangerous.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

