Two all beef patties, Special Sauce, lettuce…

Music, and I mean that quite literally, to my ears. Not kidding. Either that song or the theme from Rocky play in my head when I’m running.

As a fitness buff who is training to run an Ironman Triathlon  later this year, it may surprise readers to know that Big Macs are one of my most favorite guilty pleasures.

But why, Jim? And how can you possibly stay in shape and eat this kind of garbage?

Good questions really but I have followed the 80/20 eating principle for a long time so there is plenty of room to indulge. And that’s what you have to do when you decide to start eating right and getting into shape, you have to indulge every now and then.

Sure Big Macs and indulging may sound counterintuitive but it makes perfect sense, especially when you consider 80/20 as less of a diet and more of a lifestyle change that can lead to both better health and sustainable weight-loss. 

I have been active my whole life and exercising five times a week for my entire adult life so I have never struggled with weight but, for those who do struggle, fad diets that are overly restrictive are a bad approach becuase they put too much emphasis on all the evil things people should go out of their way to avoid and very little emphasis, if any, on balance, moderation, and eating what makes us happy.

And the math here couldn’t be simpler. If you typically eat three meals a day, you can eat clean and healthy for 16 or 17 times and go all out three or four. 

Again, it may seem counterintuitive but it does work and, believe it or not, you will find after a couple weeks that going all out is does not make you feel as good as it used to so you will actually want to limit your overindulgence on your own.

I may have posted today’s workout before, I can’t remember, but it’s one of my favorites and worth another go.

“For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”

-Timothy 4:8

Categories: Christianity, Fitness

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

