Brother, that is not a good look for a Christian 

“Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand. As you go through life you are going to have plenty of opportunities to keep your mouth shut. Take advantage of all of them.”

-John L. Mason

If that holds true, and I believe it does, then blogging must be even cheaper than talking.

At any rate. Last night the post you are reading now was published briefly as a not too discerning rant. If you saw it in the hour or so it was up you know what I mean, if not, that’s not really important.

What is important is that it was born of frustration and largely consisted of scorn, condemnation, and angry-ish venting that I should have taken to the cross instead of a public forum.

Thankfully a reader and brother in Christ, Brandon, was quick to respond with a short paragraph that included, “…there are words in here that aren’t a good look on believers.”

Thank you Brandon! Those words were exactly what I needed to hear at exactly the right time.

See, Brandon didn’t just say I was wrong. In fact he knew I wasn’t, in a sense anyway, because he clearly indicated that he understood both my motivation and my frustration and, I think, also understood that I believed I had a, albeit fleshy, justification to lash out like I did. 

But, still…

“…there are words in here that aren’t a good look on believers.”

Not only cheap talk and a blown opportunity to keep my mouth shut but also salt water from a fresh water spring, as it were. All in all satisfying to the flesh but not the least bit edifying and definitely not a good look for a believer.

I have been reflecting on this since last night – Thanks for messing up my sleep Brandon 😉 – and would like to publicly admit that I am not always, in either word or deed, the best example of Christlikeness I can be.

Not something I am proud of but something I accept and something I will pray earnestly for help with.

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”

– Psalm 19:14

*The quote is from the book, Let Go of Whatever Makes You Stop by John L. Mason who cites The West Virginia Gazette.

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I think we all do this at times. The key is to be willing to look at ourselves and, in all humbleness, admit when we are wrong. And humility is always a good look on a Christian.

    Like

    • Thanks Susan. For years humility was something I struggled with tremendously. Life, I’ve found, is much easier when we are willing to admit that we are flawed and need help just as much as anyone.

      Christianity redeems us but it doesn’t make us perfect.

      Like

  2. I didn’t see the rant James, but I did see Brandon’s e mail response to it.

    Well done in admitting this, and a good lesson to me.

    Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

