Christian deconversion stories that will literally blow your mind

image

Some time ago, I posted my Christian testimony.

Since then I have read over it a few times and come to the conclusion that it’s sort of meh, bland, boring, ho-hum…

Not saying my testimony isn’t an effective way to personalize my experience and get a conversation about Jesus going but I sometimes wish it were a little more dramatic, like the one this guy shares.

But why? Why would I wish my personal experience was different than it is?

Because this is something we all, on some level, and at least secretly, wish because we know that what sells, gets sympathy, and gets people talking are remarkable stories of things that simply don’t happen to average people.

Think about this in terms of your own life for a minute. If someone were to make a movie about your bland existence, would it sell as many tickets as movies about Chris Kyle, Marcus Luttrell, Solomon Northup, Oskar Schindler, or Louis Zamperini?

Of course it wouldn’t.

Not that this means your life is bad, or you haven’t made an impact, or you are a failure in any sense of the word. It just means that you are as white bread uninteresting as the vast majority of humanity is, which isn’t, although I wouldn’t sit by the phone waiting for someone interested in making a reality show about you to call, an inherently bad thing.

Anyway. The reason I am writing about this is because my testimony made me wonder if people who supposedly “deconvert” from Christianity ever feel the same way I do, specifically about their own religious stories. You know, could they more effectively “sell” their new found disbelief if their own tales were more compelling?

I have been a Christian for more than 20 years, have a Christian wife, have raised Christian kids, have Christian friends, have taught Sunday School in Christian churches, am active in Christian organizations…pretty much your standard big, fat, Christian life and everything that one would expect goes along with it.

That being said, if I had some sort of sudden epiphany or a gradual “intellectual awakening” that caused me to question my faith to the point I could no longer sincerely believe, I would simply walk away from faith without fuss, guilt, shame, controversy, endless talk, therapy, blogging…In other words, I am absolutely certain my “deconversion” story would be the most uninspired and boring tale ever told. And that is something, I think, many evangelical deconvertees who take up arms against God are not OK with.

Because when lack of belief is stripped of its pompous proclamations and arrogant allegations, its naked soul is seen for what it really is: weak, illogical, unscientific, and worthless nothingness that doesn’t produce any new science, new philosophy, or new ideas to back up what is at its core, nothing.

And how do non-believers “sell” that? How do they win souls to that? How do they gain the support of their friends and family for that?

Seriously. How does a person convincingly justify, even to themselves, why they walked away from purpose and meaning to embrace Richard Dawkins’ premise that “The universe we observe has no design, no purpose, no evil and no good…nothing but blind, pitiless indifference?”

In my opinion, and with increasing frequency and effectiveness these days, the dark, hopeless, and pitiless indifference of atheism is sold, in the minds of deconvertees themselves, and to all who listen to them, by shifting attention off of the logically absurd and hopeless lack of belief in God and on to fantastically dramatic, and probably embellished, deconversion horror stories that attempt to make Christianity out to be a faith everyone with any sense of decency should run from.

After all, the two obligations, whether they’ve thought about it or not, evangelical former believers all have are to constantly rationalize their own lack of belief to a conscience and heart that tell them they are wrong and to encourage believers to question and subsequently reject their faith.

Since neither can be accomplished with logic and sound reasoning against an infinitely valid and reasonable belief system; drama, emotional appeals, and horror stories are all that’s left.

Stories not told to blow your mind, by the way, but stories that are told to get you to change your mind.

Categories: Atheism, Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 replies

  1. It seems to me that when we try to second guess God, we think we know more than him. As soon as logic enters the picture our faith is hampered. Childlike faith is what he wants from us.

    Like

  2. Excellent observation and fantastic question! I have never thought of from a de-converted’s perspective before. But what you have suggested is definitely what I’ve seen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They must suffer great trauma when they de convert to be effective atheists evangelists. If it is trauma at the hands of internet bloggers it is even better.

    Actually James, in some cases they can’t just walk away…because they haven’t really walked away. I have personally encountered deconverts who are very vocal and rabid online, while in real life no one actually knows they have even deconverted.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Do true converts ‘deconvert’?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely not Dan. People who say they used to be Christians never were. They at sincerely think they were but they decieved.

      Like

    • Something non-believers tell me all the time is that they were once, some even very devout, Christians who, often with a significant amount of heartache and personal turmoil, walked away from the faith and will never go back.

      I hate to argue with people over this or even tell them they might be wrong because, truth is, no one but them and God will actually ever know for sure.

      But, then again, I hate to sugarcoat biblical truths too so…

      I was studying Revelation 3:16 in Matthews Henry’s Concise Commentary this morning and this line jumped out at me.

      “There are many in Hell, who once thought themselves far in the way to Heaven. Let us beg of God that we may not be left to flatter and deceive ourselves.”

      Not only do I agree with that completely, I think its central meaning can be rightly applied to another verse I have also been studying lately, 1 John 2:19.

      “They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us.”

      If there are people who proclaim to be actual confessing Christians that will find themselves in Hell, certainly there are deconverts who were never truly saved despite how adamantly they may declare they were.

      Causes of the indifference and inconsistency in religion Revelation 3:16 speaks of, the commentary explains are, self-conceit and self-delusion. If one thinks about these key terms, along with “flatter and deceive” in the above quote, they explain quite a bit.

      Like

  5. Hi! I’m a 44 year old who was raised Southern Baptist. My grandfather is a Baptist preacher, and so on. I was baptized as a young girl and knew nothing other than Christianity. I do remember telling my mom that the story of Noah was “just a story” and she lost it. Other than that, fully saved Christian for as long as I can remember. When I took a Mythology class my senior year of high school, I had a few “hmmmm” moments when I read several stories that sounded a heck of a lot like Bible stories. I put that to the back of my mind and went on. A few years ago, I watched a documentary on Constantine that many Christians would have probably turned off. I watched and many things that they said seemed very LOGICAL. More logical than the explanations I have found to protest the things I watched in the documentary. And now I have found sooo many myths and legends that parallel the Bible so much that I can’t ignore them. They can’t all be coincidences and the explanations from apologists just don’t cut it. They’re ignoring the big picture and just focusing on the details that might not match up. There are other “Moses” stories , and possibly other James and John characters. There are just so many.
    Since this has been a sort of slow realization, it didn’t hit me all at once. I tried to grasp to anything to hold onto my beliefs. I felt like I HAD to believe, but now I can’t force it. I’m in the South and surrounded by Christians. I have children whom I take to church. I do fake it. I have to in order to keep the life that I know. My friends and family would die if they knew the truth. I still spend hours a week trying to get new info. But I can’t come up with anything new.

    Like

Leave a Reply

