I want atheism to be true but…

Some time ago I put up a post about people being moved by Peter’s powerful preaching.

“A multitude of people had gathered. Peter had preached a powerful sermon and, when they heard his words, they were “cut to the heart” and asked how they should respond.”

Simple really, people heard his words and were cut to the heart.

No apologetics, no arguing, no pleading, no begging, no sales pitch, no coercion…

They were “cut to the heart” because the Holy Spirit moved in them, that is why they knew they should respond.

This has nothing to do with intelligence, reason, or logic and everything to do with just knowing in your heart what must be done.

Problem is, many people know but still fight. Imagine the struggle one must face when what they desperately want to be true just isn’t.

“I want atheism to be true and am made uneasy by the fact that some of the most intelligent and well-informed people I know are religious believers. It isn’t just that I don’t believe in God and, naturally, hope that I’m right in my belief. It’s that I hope there is no God! I don’t want there to be a God; I don’t want the universe to be like that.”

The Last Word by Thomas Nagel, Oxford University Press: 1997

If you’ve been “cut to the heart” you need to move and move now. Don’t wait and don’t fight, tomorrow isn’t promised to anyone. 

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Many Christians expect faith to be explained and sold as if somehow the Holy Spirit is irrelevant and the concept of the true and living God is just a good argument away from becoming real to those who don’t believe – maybe what we want most is to replace faith with something more tangible so we can prove we are right to believe and avoid being looked down on by those who do not – sometimes I feel this way, afraid of being alone in my beliefs an outsider in the world I must live in, I don’t think I am alone

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very interesting.

      I also believe there are many among us who belive everyone is one argument away from faith. I have even had very militant non-believers tell me to convince them and they will believe. I am certain that is not how it works at all.

      When Peter was preaching, the multitudes were cut to the heart and knew what they must do without any sort of argument being presented at all.

      While explaining the reasonableness of faith is important, no one is ever argued into belief.

      Thanks for reading and commenting:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

