Some just won’t hear

This post written about two years ago, punlished briefly, then turned into a draft for some reason. So, I guess, it’s suitable for a Throwback Thursday post. Especially suitable when I’ve got nothing else.


Something I firmly believe in is that only those who are open to follow God can truly hear.

To that point, what many people might not know is that the steps to salvation are: Hear, believe, repent, and confess.

But do we all hear?

“Still other seeds fell on good soil. It came up and yielded a crop, a hundred times more than was sown.” When he said this, he called out, “Whoever has ears to hear, let them hear.”

– Luke 8:8

My guess is that many hear but many of those who do hear don’t actually listen, this story makes such a point.

President Franklin D. Roosevelt got tired of smiling that big smile and saying the usual things at all those White House receptions. So, one evening he decided to find out whether anybody was paying attention to what he was saying. As each person came up to him with extended hand, he flashed that big smile and said, “I murdered my grandmother this morning.” People would automatically respond with comments such as “How lovely!” or “Just continue with your great work!” Nobody listened to what he was saying, except one foreign diplomat. When the president said, “I murdered my grandmother this morning,” The diplomat responded softly, “I’m sure she had it coming to her.”

Silly perhaps but, given what immediately follows (I found it on a blog I won’t link to) it’s hard to make the case that the Gospel isn’t sometimes falling on deaf ears.

Make no mistake, if this blogger hadn’t heard the message more than once, he would not have been able to turn in into a sad joke.

With his hands securely stapled to the cross, Yeshua looked up into the skies, and cried: “Eli, Eli, Lama Sabachthani!”, which loosely translates to “Father, father, you are a Deadbeat Dad!”. YHWH disagreed with this assessment, and so the two held the following conversation.

(It should be noted that YHWH remained completely invisible throughout this exchange.)

YHWH: I’m not a deadbeat, Yeshua. I allowed you to walk on water some time ago, remember? Didn’t you like the experience?

Yeshua: I did, but that’s in the past. Look, I’ve just received the worst beating of my life. Then they’ve nailed me to this wooden truss. It’s embarrassing. Get me out of here.

YHWH: No. LOL. Tell you what – I’ll instruct one of the solders to nail down your feet too. Your sandals keep falling off.

Yeshua: No! Please, don’t do that, father! I’ll never call you a deadbeat dad again! You are the best dad in the whole universe! The beginning and the end!

YHWH: Yes, that I am! Ha ha.

Yeshua: Get me out of here, please. These human crazies are planning to drive a spear up my ribs.

Stunning misunderstanding of the message to be sure but are the misunderstanding and the bitter mocking due to the fact that “the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing”?

Or is it because, in part anyway, some just don’t hear?

What about you?

When you hear the message of the Gospel, what do you actually hear?

Do you hear something that should be mocked, rejected, distorted, disregarded, or ignored?

Or, do you hear a beautiful redemption story that was written…

For you

By a God who loves you

To save you

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. There is no greater message that I would ever want to hear ~ the words of life.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. In every arguement I’ve ever been in about Jesus… lost or even found.. It is ussually because someone is hearing me but things are not registering.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good post. I love the picture that goes a long with this

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

