IS AGING JUST FOR FINE WINE & AMAZING CHEESE?

thvchyuvkn

ORIGINALLY POSTED ON ATIMETOSHARE.ME

The idea of growing old never occurred to me until I became part of the silver haired generation.  It still doesn’t hold much appeal.  In fact I’m trying to avoid it completely.  Becoming old isn’t particularly where anyone wants to be.

We’re fed with the notion that we can achieve higher cheekbones, supple skin, bodies that never sag.  We’re reminded everyday that age means your life is over.  NOT!  By growing old you have earned the right to express your opinion and not really care if anyone listens to you or not.  You can do anything you want to do as long as you can pull your aching body out of bed.  Your mind is filled with so much information, but you repeat the same things over and over.

Unfortunately, our society is so focused on youth that they have dismissed old age.  It’s one of those things we don’t talk about much.

I’m in my seventies and I don’t consider myself old.  I still get out of bed at  6 AM.  I continue to work.  I put my make up on each morning, fix my hair and get dressed.  I can still tie my shoes, but it’s harder to reach them.  I’ve acquired a lot of knowledge over the years, but I often forget it.  I don’t look as good as I used to, but I can still see a sparkle in my eyes.  I love to listen to the rain on the roof, but can’t always hear it.

In many societies, the elderly are looked upon with respect and reverence.  In our country, once you’ve retired you’re considered useless.   I may be old, but I’m not dead yet. and someday all you young whippersnappers are going to be walking in my shoes.

1 Timothy 5:1-2  “Do not rebuke an older man, but encourage him as you would a father, younger men as brothers, older women as mothers, younger women as sisters, in all purity”

Every living human being has value in this world – from the very young to the very old.  Let us never forget our place in the scheme of things.  Besides, getting older is just bringing us that much closer to heaven.

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I think older folks are often a wasted resource in the west. Asian families tap into this much more with their extended families. Grandpas and grandmas are often the ones free and with the wisdom to help troubled kids and teenagers. I saw a great project in which students received free board and lodging in an old folks home in return for giving a small amount of help and companionship. It was hugely successful both becoming close and benefiting greatly from the arrangement. Strangely age and youth have a lot in common in some respects.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

