Does anyone know what Christmas is all about?

image

Every once in a while I share my personal testimony in which I mention that the most concise presentation of the Gospel I recieved while growing up was from Linus in A Charlie Brown Christmas.

Since the Christmas season is now in full swing, I thought I would reboot a post from last December and share how Linus explains the meaning of Christmas to Charlie Brown.

“For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward menโ€

– Luke 2:11, 14

My hope is that none of us ever lose sight of the reason for the season.

Merry Christmas everyone,

James

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , ,

22 replies

  1. The simplicity of the message is sometimes overlooked, but Linus does a great job explaining – and uses scripture, no less.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to read you ain’t feelin’ so good, James. I loved reading that testimony ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My absolute favorite! I played this many times for my children when they were growing up (too many?), that now I have to actually sit on my grown daughter to get her to watch it. It’s great fun. She tries to escape every time. Then we bust up laughing! LOL
    I on the other hand I can watch it a million times and then a million more!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amen! matter how many times I see that scene read those words it always takes me up and brings tearsto my eyesbecause we have our Redeemer Christ the Lord

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m glad you included a link to your testimony ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is my favorite Christmas special for this very reason. So good, thanks for posting this!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. TV from another era. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “on earth peace, good will toward men”. What more is needed to say? A wonderful message. The celebration of cooperation towards one another as we enter the winter, when food supplies grow thin, and we all benefit from the warmth, metaphorically and figuratively, of our family and friends.
    Without this empathy towards others, the human race wouldn’t have made it long enough to see the birth of Jesus.

    Like

  9. I love the Charlie Brown tree. ๐Ÿ™‚ Reminds me of when I was growing up.

    Like

  10. Thanks for sharing. A wonderfully simple explanation of the gospel message minus theology. I’m grateful you were exposed to that rendition enabling you to pass it on to us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

