HAPPY HANUKKAH

thrs9efvtg

Out of the depths of my transgression, my heart screams for relief.

I grumble – I complain – I even blame God for my shortcomings.

How dare I challenge the Creator of heaven and earth?

Who do I think I am that I can question the One who molded me in my mother’s body?

I am but a worm – an insignificant gnat who persists and bothers.

In my distress a quiet voice reaches my ears. It tells me not to be afraid.

The voice is comforting and for a moment I let myself be soothed by its gentle caress.

Again I stumble. My feet cannot follow all the regulations for my life.

My hands feel useless. My heart is empty. I lose hope.

Again He whispers, “Do not be afraid.”

It is like the spinning of a revolving door – in and out of belief – around and around,

Spinning, falling, helplessly, hopelessly. From the darkest part of my existence

He comes to me again – “Do not be afraid” – He lifts me and carries me to safety.

 

As we honor the celebration of Hanukkah with our Jewish friends, we remember,

The prophesies of Isaiah, “Unto us a child is born, Unto us a Son is given and His name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

He would be born of a virgin in the town of Bethlehem in the city of David.  He would scorned and spat upon – a man of sorrows – rejected by many.

“The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light: they that dwell in the land of the shadow of death, upon them hath the light shined.” Isaiah 9:2

Light is a significant part of this season.  We praise God for sending His Son, Jesus to be the light we so greatly need.

I rest in the strong arms of my Savior. Jesus!

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Reblogged this on disturbeddeputy and commented:
    Stay in the Light.

    Like

Leave a Reply

