I STILL LOVE MY COUNTRY

marktwain386139

I grew up in a time where the study of American History was important and when pride in country ran rampant.  Something happened somewhere along the way to change that.  We had a slight resurgence of it after 9/11, but it didn’t last long.

What exactly is patriotism?  I think it’s a natural feeling of pride for our nation’s accomplishments – a desire to defend its beliefs and moral fiber – love of the precepts established by that country – a social responsibility towards that nation.

Mark Twain had a lot of opinions about our government which were spoken over a hundred years ago, but they still ring true today.  When government falls out of favor with those it governs it’s either time to re-elect new officials or get out of the country.

Sometimes I feel that we have become complacent about what’s happening in Washington.  We sit back and complain.  We give in to the idea that we can do nothing about it.  We forget that we employ those in government.  We are the boss.  What kind of boss will stand still while his employees run his company into the ground?

We are still a nation of laws.  I still have pride in what America means to me.  I don’t like what’s happening to her, but I feel helpless to do anything about it.  Most of us do.  We have grown to distrust everything about our government, including the only true voice of the people – elections.  Even those have been corrupted.

Have we strayed so far from God that we have become slaves to those we thought would provide for all our material needs – make life easy for us – take from the rich and give to the poor?  The minute we depend on our government instead of the Creator of the Universe, we are destined for failure.

I won’t give up though.  I love my country.  Too many lives have been spent in defense of her.  Her people will be heard again, but not unless they speak.  The first words uttered should be a prayer to our God.

God bless our native land!

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Amen!! I don’t know what tomorrow holds, I know the One Who holds my hand! Excellent post! Continue prayer for our beloved land, America! Long may her Banner wave!

    Like

  2. Very well said! Our pastor was preaching through Titus and by the Spirit’s timing just happened to coincide with Titus 3:1-2 yesterday. In contrast to many voices in the Christian community who are downplaying patriotism and love of country, he said “I love America and all it stands for–I’m not down on America, I’m just really up on the Kingdom of God.” And that no matter the outcome, we must remain ready for every good work. He said, “The world will not do good–it can’t. That’s our job.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Had to share this on my Facebook page!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

