NO GUILT IN LIFE

feeling-guilty

Why do we continue to feel guilt, knowing that we have been set free from all sin by the blood of Jesus?  Why do we do things that are hurtful to others, even when we don’t realize we are?  If we are followers of God, why do we continue to say things – do things – think things that are against everything that He tells us to do?

Once you become a Christian and you realize that there is nothing you can do by your own merit to obtain a place in heaven, you don’t automatically stop sinning.  Our forgiveness is assured, but the devil still seeks our souls and will do anything to retrieve us from God’s hands.

We are all sinners.  We were born into sin when we were conceived.  We are all deserving of an eternity in hell, but we also have a compassionate God who wants us to be with Him forever.

It took me a long time to see that side of Him.  I grew up thinking of  God as a supreme judge – looking down at me from His royal throne – knowing all my sins – determining my future because of them.  Even with years of Christian education under my belt, I couldn’t overcome the sin of guilt.

God loves us.  We are His children.  He would lay down His life to protect and save us.  He did!  Now He wants us to follow Him and live according to His will.  He wants us to be set free from all sin – including guilt.

“No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny
No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand
Till He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.”
           Natalie Grant

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Amen! Great post. I struggle with guilt sometimes

    Like

  2. When i recognize, I think feeling/knowing guilt is quite the appropriate response. At the same time “If we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9. God forgives our sins and cleanses us from the guilt we rightly feel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

