Cast all your election anxieties on him…

“I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.”

  • Psalm 34:4

“When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy.”

  • Psalm 94:19

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

  • Matthew 6:34

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

– 1 Peter 5:6-7

When I wake up in the morning I turn on the coffee pot, make sure my middle daughter is out of bed and getting ready for school, pour a cup of coffee, then sit in the living room for 10-15 minutes spending time with God in prayer.

I didn’t pray right away this morning however, because my mind was full of dread, uncertainty, and fear of what is to come.

If Hillary Clinton wins the election we will have a drunk with power criminal elitist president who will sell our souls to the highest bidder for personal gain and put us all in danger.

If Trump wins, we will have a drunk with power, unhinged, and amoral narcissist president  who will…let’s be honest, there is no telling what he is capable of.

I could go on, I guess, I don’t think anything is off the table at this point, I don’t think anything will genuinely surprise me.

My problem is not the inevitable doom and gloom that is about to unfold all around us but my ability to be fully at peace even though I know that God is in control and everything will work out for His good in the end.

It’s easy to say, “Cast all your anxiety on him…” but, at times like this, it’s awful hard to actually do it or at least do it completely.

My prayer for myself and everyone like me today is for the strength to fully let go of anxiety and trust that, no matter what happens, God is good, God loves us, and God is in control. 

At the very least I need to figure out how to consistently keep a healthy and rational concern for the future of the country I love from turning into a fear that we are all screwed.

Categories: Christianity, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. It’s a tough election. No good candidates. It’s like being asked to pick between which turd pile you would rather have.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Very timely. Counting down the days until the election is over…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amen, much needed with the candidates this year

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just have to breath and pray Romans 8:28….. over and over again! Great post! Your site is amazing– enjoying it very much!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As they say on master and commander, “you have to pick the lesser of two weevils!”

    As someone pointed out to me the other day, we can be certain of one thing on November 9th—God will still be in control, He’ll still be on His throne, and we will still be in His care.

    Every time I grow anxious about the election, I try to offer it up in prayer. It’s helped me tremendously…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try to offer that up in prayer too and it does help.

      Hard, really, to find a balance between concern and fear. At times I think a little fear is justified but I sometimes take it too far.

      In the military, fear isn’t all bad, it enhances situational awareness and makes people more careful.

      Like

  6. You certainly characterized the two candidates accurately. Re election anxiety(election to God’s kingdom) John Winthrop , Governor of Massachusetts Bay in early 1600’s relates in his history of the colony that a woman became so obsessed with “election anxiety” that she threw her baby down a well and killed it then saying “at least now I know I am damned.” Election anxiety (predestination)must have been so stressful for our Puritans who
    tried so fervently to live Godly lives only to hear the preacher rail on Sunday for 6 hours that they were sinners and doomed to hell by God’s wrath. Seems their faith was commanded by fear and not joy and hope and blessing.But they had acceptance of God’s plan and will whatever course that it may be. In his book “How Would Jesus Vote: A Christian Perspective on the Issues” D. James Kennedy tried to give us an everyday guide on Christian living in our secular world of tumult. It is an earnest attempt to guide Christians who earnestly try to live a life in Christian testimony in this world where very little seems to be a matter of black or white. I fear most the doctrine of Islam whose end goal is to establish a world caliphate cleansed(murdered) of all who are non believers. I try not to think about it all so much these days and take comfort that Jesus promises He will prevail.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

