Not sure who I will vote for yet but I am sure I won’t hold my nose to do it

I have been trying to avoid politics as much as I can lately but I read an article a trusted friend reccomended this morning and found it, to say the least, confusing. In the article, a former nine-term Republican congressman was quoted as saying.

“Given the enormous power of the office, every candidate for president must be judged rigorously in assessing whether he or she has the competence, intelligence, knowledge, understanding, empathy, judgment and temperament necessary to keep America on a safe and steady course. Donald Trump fails on each of those measures, and he has proven himself manifestly unqualified to be president.”

Absolutely correct, I couldn’t agree more. Unfortunately the same person also said.

“I’m just going to hold my nose and vote for Hillary Clinton.”

I understand that everyone in America has a right to vote for whomever they want for whatever reason they want but I never understood someone defiantly declaring that they are going to hold their nose and vote for a candidate they obviously don’t support as if doing so requires moral courage the rest of us don’t have and probably can’t even comprehend. Seriously, I have more respect for someone who says they are going to vote for Hillary because she is a woman or because she was endorsed by Beyonce. Dumb reasons for sure but at least they are honest and don’t reek of intellectual and moral superiority.

If you think about it a holding your nose vote for Hillary counts just as much as the vote of a life long liberal who has been in the tank for Hillary from day one and is, mathematically anyway, an endorsement whether you hold your nose when you pull the lever, vomit, or rush home and take a shower after.

I have been thinking about this quite a bit lately in regards to how I am going to vote and, in all honesty, I am more than a little convicted. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I am going to hold my nose and vote for Trump but if I do vote for him (and I might) it would only be because either him or Hillary has a chance at winning and he, as bad as he is, is by far the lesser of two evils. So, not holding my nose but doing what I believe is best for America.

So would a lukewarm endorsement with a vote mean I want Trump as my President? Not really, it just means I want the other candidate to be president less because she is worse. 

If we are talking about rape culture and the victimization women, for example, Hillary Clinton has done much more damage than Donald Trump. As an attorney, she reduced the jail time of rapists and as a wife she has a history of covering up and ignoring decades of abuses by her womanizing pig of a husband. Actions like her’s have caused much more damage than Donald Trump’s locker room talk, regardless of how appalling it was.

If we are talking about Benghazi, email, the Clinton Foundation, lies…well those are other stories but still. Is this someone worth voting for even if you have to hold your nose to do so? 

Actually, and this was supposed to be the main point of this post. Why do we have to hold our noses when we vote at all?

As prepared as I am to vote for Trump, I am increasingly more prepared to do what I have always thought was unthinkable with our two party system and not vote at all or vote for a third party candidate who has no chance of winning just so my conscience will be clear. There is, after all, some merit in going against the grain, doing what makes no mathematical sense, and bucking the system, Christians do it all the time. 

Years ago my parents bought a house from a family who had recently became Christians and joined a rather legalistic church.  The father had a very good paying job at a brewery but, after becoming convinced that he could not, in good faith, continue to work in a sinful industry, he resigned, took a much lower paying job at the Post Office, and was forced to sell a house his family could no longer afford.

Think about that for a second.

From no worldy perspective does giving up a stable high paying job with a clear promotion path and good benifits at a good company to take a lower paying job make sense. Realistically, one could make a very rational, even biblical, case that what this man did was (for lack of a better word) dumb.

Dumb as it may have fiscally been however, his conscience was clear, he did what he believed God wanted him to do and he stepped out in faith; putting all his trust in God and the idea that God would take care of him and his family which is amazing and far more bold than holding one’s nose to do what would otherwise be unconscionable. 

Bottom line here is this. Vote for whoever you want people but don’t hold your nose to do it. If your choice stinks that bad, you might want to reevaluate it.

Categories: Christianity, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. It is as Franklyn Graham said a few months ago…(paraphrasing)”Christians may well find themselves caught between a rock and a hard place.” A gross understatement, I’d say. God, really?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t get why Trump is getting the level of support he is, especially from Christians. That’s not to say I think Clinton is perfect, just a whole load better. At least she has knows how diplomacy works and will most certainly be better at representing America on the world stage.

    Looking from over the other side of the water, Trump really is a laughing stock in the international community, the only foreign leaders who appear to back are those who American would want as their leader and yet over 40% of voting Americans apparently do want Trump? This alone utterly baffles me. It’s almost as though some voters are so blinkered to be anti-Clinton, that they are incapable of standing back and rationally assessing the options, they just want any old devil, so long as it’s not Clinton.

    Even when I look at just the items in the image you’ve posted at the top (which is clearly phrased by the Trump camp) the Clinton responses are far more attractive.

    Maybe you could shed some light it for me?

    Like

    • Limey,

      I will do my best to explain from my perspective but, to be completely honest, I don’t get much of what is going on myself. I have been following politics closely for years and we are, it seems, living in a bizarre alternate reality that doesn’t make sense.

      How is Trump getting the support he is? I think because the system is badly broken and he is an outsider people think can fix it.

      Do Christians support him? Many do but many of them are cultural Christians who are willing to overlook his many transgressions and support him. Many support him only because either him or Hillary will win and he is the lesser of two evils.

      Many people want Trump, he was their first choice? True, I can’t explain them, he definitely has some loons in his camp. But, then again, all candidates do.

      “Some voters are so blinkered to be anti-Clinton…” I’m not sure what you mean by this but there are plenty of very sound and rational reasons to not think Clinton is fit to be president.

      My thoughts: Trump is awful and very likely will be an awful president. But, there is a chance he might do some good.

      Clinton is many times over worse than Trump (history will prove this beyond the shadow of a doubt) and will absolutely be a horrible president who will do nothing good.

      I am really not up for a debate on any of this, I don’t have the stomach for it, but those are my thoughts.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      James

      Like

      • You say you’re not up for a debate on the subject, but how can you say this “Clinton is many times over worse than Trump (history will prove this beyond the shadow of a doubt) and will absolutely be a horrible president who will do nothing good.” and not expect to be asked to explain it?

        PS: Do you think Eric Metaxas is a Christian?

        Like

        • I am beyond explaining how bad Clinton is and have moved on to telling people to “wait and see.”

          I say this in all seriousness. If you do not know how bad a Hillary presidency will be, you are beyond help.

          Not sure what the Metaxas question has to do with this.

          Like

          • I wasn’t looking for reasons to disagree with you, I was seeking a clarification of your reason.

            However, instead of clarifying your reasons, you choose to patronise me. Is this the level of response I am to get from you?

            You said “Do Christians support him? Many do but many of them are cultural Christians who are willing to overlook his many transgressions and support him”

            Mr M is an anybody but Hillary voter and that’s why he supports Trump. I was seeking your opinion on if he’s one of those cultural Christians you mention.

            Like

          • I am not trying to be patronizing at all I just firmly believe that people who don’t know why Clinton would make a terrible president can’t be helped. Especially true since people have been talking about it for years.

            As far as Metaxas goes, I don’t think he one of the cultural Christians I mentioned. I specifically said “many” instead of “all” for a reason.

            Like

          • “I was asking for YOU” I just firmly believe that people who don’t know why Clinton would make a terrible president can’t be helped”

            I was asking for YOUR opinion, not what the internet says, the internet is often wrong afterall.

            I guess you’re too cowardly to put a prediction down in words in case you’re held to account for being wrong and god forbid a Christian might actually be forced into acknowledging that they have been wrong about something!

            Like

  3. How about this for an idea?

    You list all the things that will be a disaster as a result of Madam President being Mrs Clinton, then in four years time we can come back here and see how accurate you were.

    Like

Leave a Reply

