HAVE WE SHORTCHANGED OUR YOUNG WOMEN?

eki_bible_verse_100514_02Originally posted on atimetoshare.me 10/9/14

When the Feminist Movement got underway in the 60’s, women applauded the rights they demanded.  They burned their bras in protest.  They shed all evidence of the things they felt were binding them or holding them back.  Their cry for equality was loud and clear and set the stage for what would become a totally different society.

Women, up to that point in time, were considered by some as second class citizens.  Their career opportunities were limited.  Society had loosened the reins somewhat and didn’t frown nearly as much on women working outside the home, but the stigma was still there.

We’ve come a long way, baby – or have we?  Today women hold high positions in almost every area of the “civilized” world.  They run large companies – they hold political office (and we may eventually see one in the White House) – their career paths are endless.

The Feminist Movement made a huge impact on society.  Some women now make more money than their male counterparts.  Women take time off to have babies, but soon reliquish the actual raising of that child to a nanny.  Women can choose to have babies or to abort them because it isn’t convenient.  Young women soon learn that power equals sex and morals are a thing of the past as long as you have protection.  Girls can physically become boys if the want to.  Women may be treated as equal, but they are no longer revered or treasured as God intended them to be.

Our young girls need to know they have value – not only to their parents, but to the One who created them.  They’re precious human beings who have been created in a way that allows them to produce new life, but they also contribute to the success of their children and husbands, by encouraging them and instilling in them God’s truth.  They have dignity, strength, a compassionate spirit, tender hearts, the ability to encourage and inspire and so much more.  God did not create women for man’s pleasure, but as an extension of him.   We are all equal in His sight.

I am not against feminism, but I think there are limits and I also believe we have done a great disservice to the young girls who will someday become women.  Maybe the old ways aren’t always so bad.

 

 

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , ,

9 replies

  1. I am blessed to be the father of two girls and also a grandfather! We need to communally pray for our girls and boys. Faith and family are so important! Positive encouragement and positive role models are also so important ….it is the responsibility of parents to be that first role model and then surround their children with other people who will be a good influence on their lives! We also need to pray for our pastoral community to continue to stress values and talk about the importance and role of the family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes indeed. The role of the father in a family has really been lessened in the last few decades and Sad to say they’ve lost stature as the head of the house. I also pray that our pastors would put the family unit back into perspective .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was well said. I think the importance of faith and family is something we really need to teach young people. Girls especially are being pulled towards the things that really don’t matter all that much, and the essence of who we are,the well being of our spirits are being left behind.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wait. Limits? What limits would you put on me? Am I somehow no more than an “extension” of my father? Do I have less value as a person because things simply haven’t panned out and I probably won’t marry? Am I less valuable because I most likely will not have children and quite frankly, don’t want them? Should I not strive to be a success in the business world because I’m a woman?

    This is what I have a problem with. Of course it’s important to maintain traditional morals and to teach children and friends how God would want them to live, etc. What I don’t get is how that’s opposed to striving for full individual potential. I am NOT the extension of any man. I am me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think what the feminist movement removed was respect. It does not demean me in any way to show respect to my husband, it elevates us both. My husband adores me and treats me like a queen because he knows his heart and his manhood is safe with me because I respect him as a man, a man created in the image of God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a great way to put it. I agree that there is absolutely demeaning in respecting our husbands. When they are servants of God and oversee the workings of the family, they deserve our respect. There’s too much “all about me” in our society. Jesus showed us what it is like to be a willing servant and we should follow his example. Thanks for your comments.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You are right on. There is nothing demeaning about respecting our husbands. God commands it. When our men serve God and lead their family as God expects them to, they are deserving of respect. Our society has become so “me” oriented that they’ve forgotten what it means to be a servant. Jesus was the greatest example of that by giving His life for all humanity. Thanks for your comment and for reading. God’s blessings.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

