​Christianity is rejected because of dislike rather than rational reasons

A few years ago I was running as a regular part of an exercise routine, despite having injured both knees playing intramural sports in college. After many instances in which I had severe, sharp knee pain, I went to the doctor to find the cause. His examination showed that I had very little cartilage in my knees. His solution to reduce my knee pains – stop running.

I wish to reject that diagnosis. Running is an exercise I really enjoy. I mean enjoyed. I don’t like the fact that running will cause more knee damage. However, I cannot allow myself to reject the facts because of an emotional response. Unless I want knee surgery in the near future.

There are other truths I don’t like either. But rejection of those truths may have serious consequences. For example, I love eating ice cream. But eating ice cream for every meal will cause disease and early death. Though I would get great emotional satisfaction from eating ice cream for dinner, I must make wiser decisions if I want to live to see my future grandkids grow up.

The majority of religious skeptics and critics I have spoken with say that they reject Christianity for rational reasons. When I ask them to explain further, they often reveal that their reasons are actually emotional roadblocks. There are certain things that they don’t like about Christianity, and therefore they reject the faith. Some common emotional reasons for rejecting Christianity include:

1. Denial of authority of the church, which often is a dislike of “organized religion”

2. The behavior of Christians, i.e. Christians are hypocrites

3. A particular behavior or lifestyle in described in the Bible as sin – fornication, adultery, and homosexuality

4. A loving God wouldn’t send people to hell

5. The amount of suffering in the world

When we read the news headlines or watch a news broadcast, we see story after story describing events that we don’t like – child abuse, rioting, civil wars and natural disasters. Do we deny that these things happen because we don’t like them? Of course not.

There are some things I don’t like about Christianity.

  • I don’t like that sin has consequences.
  • I don’t like that hell is real.
  • I don’t like that I won’t be married to my wife Michelle in heaven.

But these dislikes do not stop me from believing. There is too much evidence for the existence of God and the truth of Christianity to reject the faith based on my emotional objections.

If it is foolish for someone to believe in a faith just because of some emotional response, then isn’t it equally foolish to reject a faith just because of some emotional response?

From Real Life Apologetics

Categories: Christianity, Contributors

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. This is a good post. You’re right, it’s not rational. Most of our responses to things really are emotional, not unlike children who say “yuck,I’m not eating that.” Irrational because they’ve never even tasted it. Grown ups can be like that, too.

    “I don’t like that I won’t be married to my wife Michelle in heaven.”

    Ha! Me, too. And our pets might not be there. Also is there coffee? Because if there isn’t coffee in heaven, I’m not going!

    Take heart however, heaven is beyond our wildest imaginings and God has it all figured out with our best interests in mind. In fact, He knows what paradise for us really looks and feels like. We aren’t even capable of wrapping our brains around it. I’ve learned to trust in God ,but every now and than I think, yes, but what if He forgets the coffee? See, not rational. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice James. Typical, and nothing has changed since the days in the Garden of Eden. We forget that, like it or not, we don’t get to set the parameters and the rules. That is what the entire beef it about, is our desire to be in control. Just that easy, as God has no desire that it be difficult to come to Him. We choose…or we reject.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It bothers me sometimes that some people so easily reject the message of Christ without minding the eternal consequence. I wish they knew better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

