Will there be coffee in Heaven?

image

Many years ago I saw an exchange on the Late Show with David Letterman that went something like this.

Guest: “Do you ever think about Heaven?

Letterman: “Yeah, sometimes.”

Guest: “What do you imagine it’s like?”

Letterman: “Like a giant sports arena.”

Guest: “And how do you see yourself there?”

Letterman: “With really bad seats.”

In all honesty, I can’t be 100 percent sure this exchange ever happened, I looked around online and couldn’t find reference to it anywhere.

Be that as it may, I like it, I think it’s funny, and it is a good example of the kind of thoughts of Heaven almost all of us have.

I think about Heaven all the time, what it will be like, and what wonders it will hold.

Will there be coffe there?

Will I be able to go fishing there?

Will I do better fishing there than I do here?

Will there be golf?

As the song goes, I can only imagine…

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus
Or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all

And imagine I do…

But what about that other place?

Even though Hell is a biblical truth that has been revealed to us in God’s word, a place that must be accepted for what it is, and a place that must be taken seriously, I hardly think about it at all.

In fact, all my interactions with the non-religious over the years has led me to conclude that I think about, wonder about, and worry about Hell far less than people who claim it doesn’t even exist.

I find this curious.

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Amen! You’re right when we walk with God we don’t worry about hell and those who don’t walk with him worry why there is one. And Yes coffee will be in heaven. The best brew is waiting. Great post.

    Like

  2. Tea drinker, myself, but I suppose that in heaven coffee won’t give me indigestion.

    Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My heaven is always ninety degrees, a little breezy, with no humidity. There is the most excellent ice coffee, and really good cup cakes. There is also lots of pizza. Art is much more appreciated, and within walking distance of my apartment, there is an ever-changing museum, great restaurants, and some great music venues where I am often a feature performer. Some of these venues are mostly just fun places, but most are more like churches, and people mostly play worship music. There is also a giant library with sections on all the questions and answers in the universe, as well as an infinite collection of stories and poetry. Right outside of the city there are woods with walking trails and a few campgrounds, and a little farther on there are lakes and mountains, and the sky is always changing.

    I like to fantasize about things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

