A WOMAN OF THE NIGHT

rahab-slide

rahab

It wasn’t unusual for men to knock on my door in the middle of the night.   It had become a welcome mat for as long as I can remember.  I wasn’t proud of my lifestyle.  It ate away at me both day and night.  Still it seemed the only way for me to keep my family alive.

There was an endless need for what I had to offer.  The world is so full of ugliness, what difference would one more sinner make?  As a child I thought someday a rich man would marry me and take me to his palace, but the odds of that happening have long since dwindled.

When those two came to my door, in the secrecy of night,  I didn’t expect them to be from the mighty nation of Israel.  Word of their exploits had not gone unnoticed in Jericho.  Even the strongest of our men were reduced to rubble at the mention of their names.

I  trembled at the sight of them,  but there was something different.  They possessed an unfamiliar determination.  They hadn’t come to me that night, expecting what other men desired.  All they wanted was information about Jericho’s military strength.

It wasn’t long before soldiers came searching for them.  Something told me to expose the spies immediately, but another voice crept into my mind compelling me to hide them.  I was then told my family and I would be spared when they invaded the city- a reward for my silence.

When the day came, I didn’t see an enemy attacking our city.  I saw men of valor with a faith in a god I didn’t know. It was then that my life really changed.  I would no longer be a slave to the flesh – now I would adore the God of Israel and I knew that God had different plans for my life.

 

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , ,

6 replies

  1. Absolutely beautiful!! Wow!! No longer a slave to flesh! The strength of the God of Israel to save!! Wow!! Thank you for sharing!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Kathy, I’ve followed you long enough to realize that the title of this blog wasn’t about you. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

