Face it, the Bible can be hard to believe 


Admit it, some of the Bible is hard to believe. Talking animals, people living to be hundreds of years old and then building giant boats, clouds of fire, seas parting, armies defeated by people singing worship songs, virgins giving birth, a man living for 3 days in the stomach of a giant fish–you know, stuff like that. Admit it, some of it is hard to believe. The craziest thing is that it is provocative for me to say so.  I think that’s a serious problem. Let me explain what I mean.

The fact that it is provocative for a Christian to say something like “Some of the Bible is hard to believe” indicates that the majority of Christians think there is an obligation to maintain the opposite–that everything in the Bible is easy to believe. I think that is a serious problem for at least two reasons. 

As a Christian, if I insist that everything in the Bible is easy to believe, I immediately appear to be either A). completely out of my mind, or B). Existing on some unattainable, super-spiritual level. In both cases, the problem is that it makes Christians into something that “normal” people cannot relate to. The first (appearing out of our minds) has to do mainly with the way non-believers see us. Now, before you start chastising me for “caring what people think,” or telling me that “the World is supposed to think we are crazy,” please just try to understand what I am driving at. Because I’m not saying something controversial. If a non-Christian were to come up to you and say “Some of that stuff in the Bible just seems crazy, isn’t it ever hard for you to believe?” and your response is “Nah man, it’s all easy to believe, makes perfect sense to me, you just gotta believe,” you have instantly made yourself a complete alien to that person.  At that point, the invitation to follow Christ sounds, to them, a lot like, “Abandon all reason, embrace fairy tales, and allow yourself to be brainwashed until you believe stuff that no rational person could ever believe.”

Likewise with the second (unattainable super-spiritualism), I would argue that deep down inside, the vast majority of people in the Church really do find some of the things in the Bible difficult to believe. Now, that immediately causes a problem of cognitive dissonance. That is, the disconnect between the reality that deep down they find some things in the bible difficult to believe, and the feeling that they must maintain the unspoken standard of either never saying so, or publicly having to say that it’s easy to believe…

Read the rest…

Categories: Apologetics, Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 replies

  1. NO THE HOLY BIBLE IS NOT HARD TO BELIEVE, IT IS A MATTER OF WALKING IN FAITH WITH THE HEAVENLY FATHER YAHVEH. IT DOES TELL US WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO THE PEOPLE WHO SUPPORT AND WEAR THE MARK OF THE BEAST AND IT IS HAPPENING RIGHT NOW. A PERSON IS EITHER GOING TO GET ON BOARD WITH JESUS CHRIST, OR THEY ARE GOING TO GET ON BOARD WITH satan.

    Like

    • Futuret,

      While I understand what you are saying, it’s important for Christians to appear more understanding and less dismissive of those who disagree with us on the Bible.

      The message of the Gospel is one of Love, compassion, and understanding, not one of “believe this or die” ultimatums.

      Thanks for reading and commenting but I don’t think your comment is helpful.

      God bless,

      James

      Like

  2. Excelled find James. Maybe some honest sharing on our part would open dialogue more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I believe you are right Wally. What’s lacking in too many conversations these days is empathy. It’s hard to have a reasonable conversation with anyone if we don’t at least try to appear like we understand where the other side is coming from.

      I really think telling people that the Bible is easy to understand and that they need to believe it or die is a horrible evangelistic tactic.

      Don’t get me wrong here, I believe the Bible is absolutely true but we can’t appear insulting to those who just don’t get it.

      James

      Like

  3. The Bible should be read in the spirit it was written. What was written to be an origins myths, poem or parable should be read as an origin myth, poem or parable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like this, and I agree that it can be taken simply as an honest approach and not a concession to the atheist that the Bible is in any way flawed. Being ‘hard to believe’ is not necessarily the same as being ‘impossible to believe,’ but I think it opens up the door for us to talk about why you believe and why I don’t believe.

    I once asked a Christian friend of mine about his take on acceptable levels of doubt. His response was a completely sincere, “Oh, I’ve never doubted anything at all.” I was stunned. Knowing some of the horrors he and his family had been through, I couldn’t make sense that there would never at some point been some twinge of doubt. I’m not saying he should have cursed God and died, but I felt like we had just lost the ability to have a rational conversation.

    Like

    • Jon,

      Thanks for the comment, you made some good points.

      I thinks it’s important for people on both sides to know that everyone is different when it comes to faith and doubt.

      I know Christians who say they have absolutely no doubt, some who have a lot of doubt, and many in between.

      I also know a few non-believers who have serious doubts so…

      In all honesty, I’ve never found knowing why another person believes what they do to be particularly useful when the import thing is each individual being confident in what they believe and why.

      I have talked to Christians who can’t, for the life of them, explain why they believe but that fact doesn’t make their belief less sincere than anyone else’s or make Christianity less true.

      James

      Like

Leave a Reply

