Because of Christ the life of my father was changed right before my eyes

image

There is power in the name of Jesus

There’s another area of which I’m not proud. But I mention it because a lot of people need to have the same change in their lives, and I found the source of change: a relationship with Jesus Christ. That area is hatred. I had a lot of hatred in my life. It wasn’t something outwardly manifested, but there was a kind of inward grinding. I was ticked off with people, with things, with issues.

But I hated one man more than anyone else in the world: my father. I hated his guts. To me he was the town alcoholic. Everybody knew my dad was a drunk. My friends would make jokes about my father staggering around downtown. They didn’t think it bothered me. I was like other people — laughing on the outside. But let me tell you, I was crying on the inside. There were times I’d go out in the barn and see my mother beaten so badly she couldn’t get up, lying in the manure behind the cows. When we had friends over, I would take my father out, tie him up in the barn, and park the car around the silo. We would tell our friends he’d had to go somewhere. I don’t think anyone could have hated anyone more than I hated my father.

After I made that decision for Christ, he entered my life and his love was so strong that he took the hatred and turned it upside down. I was able to look my father squarely in the eyes and say, “Dad, I love you.” And I really meant it. After some of the things I’d done, that shook him up.

When I transferred to a private university I was in a serious car accident. With my neck in traction, I was taken home. I’ll never forget my father coming into my room. He asked me, “Son, how can you love a father like me?” I said, “Dad, six months ago I despised you.” Then I shared with my dad the conclusions I had come to about Christ: “Dad, I let Jesus Christ come into my life. I can’t explain it completely, but as a result of that relationship I’ve found the capacity to love and accept not only you but other people just the way they are.”

Forty-five minutes later one of the greatest thrills of my life occurred. Somebody in my own family, someone who knew me so well I couldn’t pull the wool over his eyes, said to me, “Son, if God can do in my life what I’ve seen him do in yours, then I want to give him the opportunity.” Right there my father prayed with me and trusted Christ for the forgiveness of his sins.

Usually the changes take place over several days, weeks, months, or even a year. The life of my father was changed right before my eyes. It was as if somebody reached down and turned on a light bulb. I’ve never seen such a rapid change before or since. My father touched whiskey only once after that. He got it as far as his lips and that was it. I’ve come to one conclusion.

A relationship with Jesus Christ changes lives.

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 replies

  1. I too was “a child provoked unto wrath’. You are blessed to have been freed from that and also, see your dad come to repentance. More than a blessing, a miracle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!!! Too awesome!
    I too was filled with hate and rage..something I used to thrive on..I used to make jokes and say I was born that way..knowing now that hate is a learned behavior..anyway..Yes..when I let God in..hate no longer existed in my heart..of course I dislike things but no one or any situation is perfect EXCEPT God..He came into my life and those of my children and cleaned house..I am forever grateful for His everlasting love..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My Mom and dad divorced when i was 6. My dad was a alcoholic to he wasn’t abusive to me but he was to his own dad. So I was the middle Man and had to do things I’m not proud of. But I to understand the power of Jesus he changes people. My dad knew how much I am involved with Jesus. He used to call me a missionary I guess that’s how he understood my life.so on his death bed I to made sure of his Salvation he always to me he thought he was going to heaven on his death bed I made sure he would. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for sharing this much needed story from your personal experience. God does change hearts. We need to put our complete trust in Him to do so. If more folks had the courage to give their testimonies in this way, so many hearts could be healed.

    Like

  5. James, thank you for sharing this amazing story. My father also was an alcoholic, but he never found the Lord to the best of my knowledge. As much as anything I regret I never got to tell him.

    Amazing testimony and it must have been hard to share it. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WOW!! — love this testimony! Yes, Jesus, the Living God, transforms lives!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. James,
    This testimony made my night. What a reminder of Romans 1:16 about the power of the Gospel

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Thank you for this testimony. My father is also an alcoholic. It bothers me very much how someone can act in such a way without, realizing the pain it brings others. I pray for him and hope God can change things, yet he must allow Christ to work through him. All in all God comes first in my life and He’s an awesome God!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was placed in the care of a “functional” alcoholic as a teen (I wasn’t aware of this “trait” at the time). Those years were times of intense learning and testing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wonderful testimony. Jesus sure changes lives like no one else can. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Just awesome James, thanks so much for sharing such a personal story. It will help many others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

