Don’t pick me, don’t pick me, please God don’t pick me

image

Move along, nothing to see here

A few months ago I posted what I thought was the perfect prayer, you should read it, it’s pretty awesome.

Anyway, I posted that prayer because I thought it might be helpful to someone out there who might find prayer difficult, like I used to.

The pastor at the chuch my wife and I were attending when we accepted Christ as our savior had a horrible habit of picking someone from the congregation to end the service with a word of prayer.

“Robert, would you mind closing?”

“John, would you lead us in a word of prayer?”

“Susan, I mean Tom; Baptists don’t let womenz talk (kidding) would you do the honors?

“James (the name that should not be uttered in situations like these, EVER) would you mind standing in front of God and His people and totally humiliate yourself for what will seem to you like an eternity?

Yep, week after week after week, when I didn’t have the foresight to conveniently sneak off to the bathroom at exactly the right time, I sat there in my seat, trying to hide in plain sight behind a Bible, church bulletin, collection envelope, person in front of me, hey look a dollar fell out of the collection plate, my shoe is untied… while I actually thinking “don’t pick me, don’t pick me, don’t pick me…”

So what’s the big deal with standing up without any planning, thought, or notice and being asked to give an impromptu prayer in front of 300 of your closest and not at all judgmental and gossipy (kidding again, kind of) friends?

Well, the problem I had was that I thought I had to, If I ever had the misfortune of being called that is, hit my prayer out of the park like the other and much more mature in the faith people who were usually called always did. You know, a modern day Sermon on the Mount or the prayer equivalent of The Gettysburg Address that included all the right lingo like; lay your hands on, lift up, by the power of Thy quickening Spirit, let me touch the lives of others for good…Seriously, what if I used the wrong words or forgot to thank God for sending His son to die for me? What if I forgot to thank Him for my abundant blessings? What if I forgot to tell Him that I commit my spirit into His hands? What if I forgot to ask Him to bless and lead the Kansas City Chiefs to victory that Sunday? I’m sure you get the idea here but the list goes on and on and it was terrifying.

Was terrifying, that is, until I read and meditated on Matthew 6:7 which says. “When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered only by repeating their words again and again.”

Turns out that it doesn’t necessarily matter what we say to God and/or ask from God in prayer as long as we say/ask it in sincerity, with obedience, with confidence, and with the knowledge that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us (1 John 5:14).

Bottom line here is that we all need to worry less that we have the right words and talk to God like we are talking to a friend or a relative on the phone.

Think about it. God loves us and values us so much that while we were yet sinners, He sent His son to die for us (Romans 5:8) just so we could be forgiven and spend eternity with Him in His glorious presence.

Hard to believe He would sacrifice so much just so He could forget every bad thing we have ever done and every bad thing we will ever do and still judge us on the eloquence of our prayers, isn’t it?

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. Ha! This just cracked me up. I can’t tell you how many times I have said, “no Lord, please Lord, not worthy, don’t let them pick me, I can’t do this thing.” It turns out that God always arms the unequipped! Nobody ever told me that part.

    One of these days I shall have to write a book called, “face planting for God,” or something. How to be called to some task and collapse into complete hysterics 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Love this blog as it is very familiar! I also hoped not to be picked to come to the front, but as soon as I was picked God always gave me the words to speak and they were a blessing to me and others. As insanitybites22 also says, God really arms the unequipped.

    Liked by 1 person

    • God does indeed arm the unequipped.

      Thanks for reading, I am glad you enjoy reading the blog.

      James

      Liked by 1 person

      • God has really blessed you with your blog. I love to read it and it really helps me to grow in my faith.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you. My hope has always been that this blesses and encourages at least one person.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks Alex,

          By the way, I noticed you have a nasty troll on the post about Hell you shared from this blog.

          Arkanentan and his friends are people you should not entertain, even briefly, they are scoffers.

          In the Bible, scoffers are those who choose to disbelieve God and His Word. They say in their hearts, “There is no God” (Psalm 14:1), and make it their ambition to ridicule those who follow God.

          You can, of course, do whatever you want but these people are up to no good and a waste of your time and energy.

          James

          Liked by 1 person

          • God bless you James, I also noticed that they were trolling. I will not take my precious time and go into this trolling kind of discussion. My explanation was very clear, but they don’t want to hear the truth. I do want to thank you, because before you wrote me I was still thinking I had to continue this discussion with them. You are fully right with your reference to the scoffers.

            I thank God for sending you to tell me this.

            God bless you!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Thanks Alex,

            I have a history with these people and they definitely don’t want to hear the truth.

            As Christians, there are much better uses of our time than talking endlessly to people who have no interest in what we are saying.

            Shake off the dust and move on, I like to say.

            God bless brother,

            James

            Liked by 1 person

  3. God just wants us to talk to him.That we would know our creator. Praying is one way God changes us into his image.
    I enjoyed this post James.

    Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha, that was pretty awesome, James. I can so remember the exact same feelings that the mature believers were just going to make me look foolish because my words were so..basic. I am far from worrying about that now, as I just pray what I am led to, and what is on my heart. If somebody thinks less of me for that, then frankly that is their problem and not mine. Good encouraging word here, thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I so know that “Don’t pick me,” mindset and have reflected on that scripture many times. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

