ACTS of Prayer

prayer

Prayer is tough. Some are prayer warriors, for whom communing with God is simply second nature, and they do it without thought. For others, including me, it is seemingly more difficult. Why is that? Well, the reasons can be many. We may see it as a cumbersome task to squeeze into an already busy day. We may not feel close enough to God to think we can speak with Him personally. In many cases, we just don’t know what to say! This of for those of us whose hearts are in the right place, but struggle to frame words which seem appropriate.

This is not a ritual or for praying, as we don’t need that, and God does not desire it. Prayer is no more than simply talking to God.

ACTS of Prayer

A is for Adoration

If we adore another person and want to show it, what would we do? We would TELL them! What would we tell them?

Tell Him you love Him

Tell Him the things you like about Him

Tell Him about His qualities that you admire.

Psalm 68:35 Awesome is God from his sanctuary; the God of Israel—he is the one who gives power and strength to his people. Blessed be God!

Psalm 66:3 Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds! So great is your power that your enemies come cringing to you.

C is for confession

We all sin, every day

Sin breaks our fellowship with God

With unconfessed sin, we don’t even have the right to pray for anything else

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

T is for Thanksgiving

Thank Him for saving us from our sin

Thank Him for the fact that we are alive to even be praying

Thank Him for previously answered prayers

We should thank Him for answered prayers before asking for more

Psalm 69:30 I will praise the name of God with a song; I will magnify him with thanksgiving

S is for Supplication or seeking His help

Really before we get to S, we should already have done A, C, and T

Pray for help for ourselves

Pray for help for others

Pray for our smallest needs, and our biggest

Intercede for others, such as brothers and sisters in Christ, or your pastor

Philippians 4:6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Have we done our ACTS today?

 

 

 

 

Categories: Christianity, Contributors

14 replies

  1. My post for today is about prayer also. You can pray we all can if we pray from our heart it doesn’t have to be so special it sets us apart from others, it only has to honor God. Because his will is all we need. Great post Wally!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am one who is not big on public praying because I have grown so accustomed to talking to my Heavenly Father in short little snippets throughout the day. There is no thought nor organization to those prayers, just conversation. When asked to pray publicly, I have to think about praying in a logical order. Several times I’ve asked the Lord to help me pray publicly but apparently He is not as concerned about it as I am. The truth is, it is more of a pride issue with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Our preacher always has somebody pray, usually several times. I remember when I first was saved and joined the church being just terrified he would call me, because some of the folks really seemed to have such profound words. Then I realized they were just words. So, I just say what’s on my mind and heart now.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the acronym, its a great outline for a deeper Bible study. I’ll surely return to this for later as a great reference.

    I pray quite deliberately at times for specific people or situations but more often than not my prayers are random, short but sincere. I pray when things come to mind immediately because honestly if I wait, I’ll likely forget, I have probably gravitated away from structured prayer to more “in the moment” 95% of the time. I think our prayer with God is as unique as we are but you’ve summed up the gist of prayer quite nicely here. Thanks for the reminder that I must CONFESS my adoration more, not just think about it. Great Post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I use A.C.T.S. and the Disciple’s Prayer as recorded in Matthew and Luke as models for new Believers. A.C.T.S.is a simple acronym to remember, but I generally suggest that they re-order the letters to A.T.C.S. It seems to be a more natural flow to go from adoration for who God is to thanking Him for what He has and will do in our lives. Perhaps it should even be C.A.T.S., but than again, I’m a dog person.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wally, I haven’t thought about this in ages. ACTS is how I used to teach my elementary school children how to pray (the ones I taught at Christian schools). It was easy for them to remember – a terrific way to get them started in prayer life.

    Like

  6. Even after a decade and a half I still find ACTS to be a good memory device of what and how to pray…

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. ACTS of Prayer – Truth in Palmyra

Leave a Reply

