‘Dad, I think we need to wash your mouth out with soap!’

Guess I will do a Throwback Thursday post too…

image

So my wife and I had recently finished explainig to one of the kids that it’s not appropriate to use slang terms when refering to human sexual organs.

Actually, it’s not appropriate for kids under a certain age to speak of such things at all but that’s another story.

Anyway, a few days later my son asked what a word meant so I, just like my mom used to do when I was a kid, told my son to look it up.

“How?”

“How what?”

“How do I look up a word?”

“Use the dictionary.”

“The what?”

“Dic·tion·ar·y” I repeated, realizing he didn’t yet know what that was.

“Shouldn’t it be called a penis-tion-ary, Dad?”

“Go ask Mom.”

I was reminded of this “out of the mouths of babes” story this morning when I read the following quote.

“Many people operate as though the definition of faith were, Don’t ask questions, just believe. They quote Jesus himself, who taught his followers to have the faith of a child (Mark 10:15). But I once heard Francis Schaeffer respond by saying, ‘Don’t you realize how many questions children ask?'”

~ Nancy Pearcey

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. I absolutely love the Bible. And when you knock down some walls and loosen up your shirt collar, it’s pretty fun. Like when the Judaisers got told off by Paul for demanding gentiles to be circumcised. Paul said he wished they’d cut their whole thing off. Basically: “Stupid people shouldn’t breed!”

    Elijah and the priests of Ba’al is another favorite. Some Hebrew scholars say that when Elijah taunts Ba’al’s priests by asking if their ‘god’ is ‘traveling’ or ‘indisposed,’ it can be interpreted ‘maybe your god is out taking a leak.’ Now that’s a great book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another enjoyable read, lol. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very cute! Kids say the darnest things…..there really should be a tv show about that….

    Like

  4. Oh my. I remember this one LOL. Still funny, too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

