OUT OF THE MOUTHS OF BABES

andy

The things children say can be the most delightful, embarrassing, fearful, joyous words you will ever experience.  I never did this when my kids were young, but I think it’s a good idea to jot those little tidbits down for future reference.  They may come in handy down the line.  Instead of keeping a journal, I often relied on memory and repeating those clever little thoughts over and over to burn them into my brain.

My own children had some funny things to say during their youth, but the most recent memories come from their own children.  Here are a couple of examples:  My teenage grandson while comparing himself to his older brother – “He’s a complete set of encyclopedias.  I’m just a pocket dictionary, with pages missing.”  My granddaughter wrote this on a Christmas card she created for me a while back, “To my favorite grandma – on my mother’s side.”

Some of my young students have had some funny things to say also.  When I arrived a few minutes late, a child piped up with this comment, “We thought you died and went to heaven.”  Another announced to the class that I had brownchitis.

When my husband was re-enacting an 1800s artist, one of the children innocently asked, Mr. Hawkeye, how old are you?”  He was amazed that this man could still be alive after all these years.  In another job, as a interpretive naturalist, a six year old boy asked if he was a paleontologist.  My husband quickly replied, “No, I’m just a dinosaur.”  Quick on the comeback.

God often uses examples of the weakest humans being used for the most difficult situations.  In Matthew 21:16 we read Jesus response to his disciples, “”Do you hear what these children are saying?” they asked him. “Yes,” replied Jesus, “have you never read, “‘From the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise?”

Lord, you have given the most precious gift of life to this ailing world.  Little children come to know you through simple faith.  Even though I am old in years, may I continue to come to you in childlike faith and accept the plans you have laid out for me.  Amen!

 

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Ha…Sunday the Choir Director played that during the offering, and my wife said that thing from the Meme.Too funny

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

