DON’T RUN AWAY

 

psalm-139.jpg

Some of us  don’t have the courage or the backbone to confront difficult situations.  There are those who feel that running from a tough situation is a way of not having to deal with it.

When I was a child, I ran away from home at least five times.  I thought that by leaving, my parents would really miss me and whatever it was that caused me to run would be resolved.  Of course I always came back after walking around the block once.  It didn’t take me long to realize that I was totally dependent on them.

I always thought it would be great to run away and join the circus too.  I’d dream of being a great circus star and making millions as a trapeze artist.  Of course that never came to fruition either – which is probably a good thing since I’m terrified of heights.

As I grew older, there were many times I wanted to run away – from the responsibilities of life, the financial issues, the arguments, the fear of failure, the challenges of parenting, meeting a deadline.  Life isn’t easy.  There are moments when we all feel like we want to run away.

Realizing that God is with us in every aspect of our lives should make us aware of what’s going on within us.  Are we living upright lives?  Are we following His commandments?  Are we living up to His expectations?  Kind of scary, isn’t it?  We can’t do any of that on our own.

It can be frightening to think of God as our judge, but He’s also the One who provides  perfect justice, even though we don’t deserve it.  Don’t run away from Him.  Run to Him!

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

