TAKE A HIKE

walk-with-jesus

We are daily faced with danger. We get into our cars and follow the rules, but someone else doesn’t. We go for a run in a secure neighborhood, but some creep is in the bushes waiting for an opportunity to rip us off or worse. Lives are aborted at astounding numbers. The political scene makes us wonder if there is any good choice at all and if it even matters.  Life sometimes seems to be on a perilous road to hell in a hand basket.

Maybe we shouldn’t get out of bed, but if we go back to sleep we can be attacked by our dreams. The truth is we’re in danger every minute of our lives. This is why we need the presence of God and His holy angels to protect and watch over us. I have tons of stories of how I have faced difficulty, danger and even death, but I know I was wearing God’s armor.

When we walk alone, trouble can come at us from every side.  When our travel through this daily workout with the One who walked willingly to the cross, the road is so much easier.  If someone tells you to take a hike, remember who your partner is. He will smooth the path, encourage you to push on, be at your side the whole way and carry you when you encounter difficult obstacles.

A hymn, written in 1734, sums it up. Here is a verse to give us hope.

I walk with Jesus all the way, His guidance never fails me;
Within His wounds I find a stay when Satan’s power assails me;
And by His footsteps led, my path I safely tread.
In spite of ills that threaten may, I walk with Jesus all the way.

 

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Reblogged this on Not Ashamed and commented:
    So true

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. My Article Read (4-12-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

