ON BEING A GRANDMA

thABEETIHF

Originally posted on atimetoshare.me

My mother’s mom was the wife of a farmer.  I knew she had dreams of a big city life and often shared her love for life with her entertaining antics.  She was a woman with a true pioneer spirit.  Her husband didn’t really like farming much, so he took another job, leaving the basic farming chores to grandma and hired out the rest.

Grandma would rise before the sun and punch her way through a humongous ball of bread dough and set it in pans to rise for lunch. Then she would go to the barn and milk the cows by hand; all the time whistling or singing a tune.  There must have been days when she would rather have stayed in bed, but she didn’t.

Her hair was prematurely white and went down to her waist.  She would braid it tightly and then wind it into a bun.  Her eyes were the bluest blue I’ve ever seen.  She spoke of her childhood in Montana and how they would gather buffalo chips to make a fire.  I had visions of what it must have been like to live that way.  My dreams often included Indians surrounding a covered wagon.

The thing I most remember about Grandma was her strength in adversity.  She buried 5 of her 8 children and cared for an ailing husband for many years until he passed away.  After that she kind of gave up and it wasn’t long before she finally fell asleep too.

I have fond memories of her singing with the old time radio station, as the dog accompanied her with his howling strains.  If we were there for a visit and one of us became ill, she would stick some cotton under her nose for a moustache, adopt a German accent and pretend to be a doctor while making us laugh or at least feeling better.

She had an extremely strong faith in God and used it to carry her through so much trouble in her life.  She may not have realized it, but she was planting seeds in my heart.  Seeds that would eventually grow into an even more bountiful harvest than she could possibly imagine seeing on that farm.

Thank you, Lord, for giving me the inheritance of your Word through the passing of it from generation to generation  Now that I’m a grandparent, help me to instill that same love for God and His promises in my grandchildren.  What an inheritance to leave them!

Psalm 103:17  ” But the steadfast love of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to children’s children.”

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Thank you for posting this! For me, this is so timely as today I become a grandma for the first time, as my daughter and son-in-law accept 2 foster-to-adopt children into their home! I claim that Scripture over us right now! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

