WHAT ME WORRY?

th2LYUSET6

Many years ago a now familiar character appeared on the cover of Mad Magazine.  The man who created him worked many years in the comic book industry.  His name isn’t recognizable, but the one image that made him famous is the one you see pictured here.  Alfred E. Newman became the icon  for “Mad” for years.  Who could forget the owner of that face?

We all worry.  It’s part of our makeup.  I think women probably worry more than men – especially mothers.

It’s easy to tell someone not to worry, but not so easy to accomplish.  When we’re faced with mounting bills or difficult decisions our natural tendency is to fret.  When we have children, we worry about their welfare and safety. Some folks worry about getting married and fear they might become a growing statistic.  Some fear failure.  Others seem to have no fear.   We get anxious when we face difficult health issues.  We get nervous about a lot of things.  Most of us have experienced it at some point in our lives.

When God tells us not to worry, we should listen.  We know we can count on Him, because He fulfilled His promise to humanity on Good Friday and Easter Sunday.

Lord, it’s hard not to be afraid.  Life is difficult.  Sometimes things get harder as I trudge through it, but I know that you are always faithful.  You talk about my anxieties in the Bible and assure me that you will be with me no matter what. Keep me under your protection.  Amen!

“Fear not, for I am with you;
    be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

ISAIAH 41:10

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Great post James. Wow, that takes me back in time. I used to read Mad every new issue!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I never realised that Alfred was a red head! Somehow I always focused on the freckles and the grin. What I appreciate most about this post is not the memory, but the reminder that I’m not alone in my worries – other Christians suffer with them too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s what is so cool about being part of this community. We are all sinners. We all fall short. We need Jesus and we need other Christians to build us up and encourage us when we are worried. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

