BE IN ALL OF ME

131425429_640

In the Roman Catholic Sarum Primer of 1514, there is a prayer for preparation to worship which was turned into a beautiful anthem used by many churches today.  “God Be In My Head” prays for our complete involvement in our lives – not only by us, by the One we are praying to.

God be in my head, and in my understanding;

God be in mine eyes, and in my looking;

God be in my mouth, and in my speaking;

God be in my heart, and in my thinking;

God be at mine end, and at my departing.

This hymn says it all when it comes to our relationship with God. He should be in every aspect of our living from the moment we wake, until we lay our heads and fall asleep at night. We should be learning about Him on a daily basis, through His manual for living, the Bible. We should use our talents and gifts to further His kingdom. We must be sure that our children, grand children and future generations learn to rely on Him too. The image of God and His love for us should be emblazoned on our hearts and imprinted into our souls. This should be something we do out of gratitude for what He does for us every day of our lives.

Thank you, Holy God, for your ever present love. I don’t deserve it, but you give it freely. Let me never forget the sacrifice you have willingly given for me.  Remain in all of me so that when we meet face to face in eternity, I will know you completely.  Amen!

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

