SAYING YOU’RE SORRY

Personal relationships should always be truthful, but an intimate relationship with God begins with laying all our sins at His feet.  We should do this, not because He isn’t completely aware of our mistakes, but because He wants us to see our need for a Savior.

By doing this, we’re being released from the burden, but it’s also bringing us closer to Him.  Instead of thinking of Him as a vengeful judge, we should remember how much He loves us.  His love covers all our past mistakes. When He conquered death, He was demonstrating what lay ahead for all those who ask for forgiveness – eternal life.

We see the world falling deeper and deeper into darkness – we think it has lost sight of God’s eternal plan – we blame others for the trouble we’re in – but we often forget that sin is what brought us to such a time as this.

During this time of Lent, we reflect on our sin, but we also rejoice in God’s plan for us.   John, the Baptist said, “Prepare the way for the Lord.”  The only way to do that is to open our hearts completely to Him – to admit that we have sinned and fallen short of our God’s law.  That also means, we need Jesus in our life.  That’s where the intimacy begins.

The world is not the place for me.  I long to be in heaven.
When thoughts like that invade my mind, I need to be forgiven.
God didn’t make me to want death.  He chose me as His own.
He crafted me and knew me before my life was sewn.
Each little piece he whittled.  Each vessel put in place.
He had a plan set just for me.  He knew the dreams I’d chase.
And even as my days grow short, and time is running out,
I feel His presence in my life.  Of this I have no doubt.
To live for me is Jesus, no matter where I roam.
I will rejoice to meet Him when He comes to take me home.

KATHY BOECHER©

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. A question for the group: Having been raised in the Episcopal tradition, I am very familiar with the tradition of the Lenten season. Even though it is clearly a man-made tradition and Yeshua railed against the man-made traditions of the P’rushim, I don’t find the practice of setting aside a 40-day period prior to Easter for self-examination and contemplation of the grace that Yeshua gave us on the Execution Stake as a bad thing. Why is it that most evangelical churches don’t practice this tradition?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am a conservative evangelical Lutheran. The idea of self examination and repentance are good things, however if we do them in order to gain our salvation then they become worthless. Jesus is the only one who makes that happen. I would be interested to know how others feel about this too. My personal opinion is that none of those outward things are necessary but as part of preparation for Passion Week they help us focus on our Savior.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m Catholic, so Lent is kind of a big deal at my church. I can absolutely see how the whole concept can be problematic. However, for the past two years I’ve been trying to make the time more fruitful. Last year I gave up Facebook in order to have more time for more productive, and more spiritual things, and it was a big help. This year I decided to do a few things.

    I gave up negativity, or at least I’ve been trying, which hasn’t exactly been easy, but the process has been very helpful. I’ve also been attending worship services and a class called “Knowing Jesus Better.” I just mention these things because I think it has all been very helpful in becoming closer to God and also knowing myself a bit better. The point is, I think Lent is what you make of it.

    Liked by 2 people

Trackbacks

  1. My Article Read (3-4-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

