DO OPPOSITES ATTRACT?

an_old_married_couple_by_evil_flowers-d5c9yyl

Many of us prefer to do things with some sort of structure. I happen to be one of them. It seems that once you start to raise a family and responsibility becomes foremost in your life, some of those whimsical things we did as children get lost in the fog.

The man I married, on the other hand, has always maintained a sense of adventure. I really admire that about him, because I am so much the opposite. Between the two of us we have the perfect balance. He is still an Indiana Jones at heart while I am more like Sweet Polly Purebred. I prefer doing things in an orderly fashion, while he can find solutions in chaos. I am resistant to change and he is still ready to explore new horizons.

This could be frustrating to some, but it has really kept our marriage alive for more than half a century. Even though I don’t know if I have any great adventures left in me, I am grateful to God for giving me a man that is always looking for new ones . . . and so the adventure continues.

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Marriage, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. I see that adventure continuing until you walk hand-in-hand into the sunset. I wish for the same, as I can’t imagine me without my dear husband who is so different from me. He is my other half that gives my walk in this world balance. We keep each other upright. God bless the years you have together. Your testimony is a blessing to me and an encouragement that I very much appreciate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Me too. My wife and I were advised by a counselor that to marry would be a mistake–“too different from one another.” 31 years later, it’s still the best mistake I ever made.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Bob and I like that, only we’re switched.!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha ha !
    I “liked” you just for mentioning Sweet Polly Purebred, a true heroine from my Underdog daze.

    BTW – my lovely wife is one of the few good decisions I have EVER made in my life.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thank you for linking to my post. I appreciate your encouragement.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. My Article Read (2-26-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

