DREAMS

d85715d0415ebd9b682e03675d680f35

There is an advertisement selling some kind of sleep aid which leaves room for all kinds of weird dreams.  It depicts a set of dust bunnies which spell out the words “sleep” and “awake.”  If I had these creatures running around my bedroom each night, I’d certainly have issues sleeping at all.

I’ve been known to have very vivid and sometimes disturbing dreams. Something seems to happen to my brain when it falls asleep. It’s like this alter-ego explodes inside my head, giving way to all the weirdness or creativity within me. I usually go through some of these dreams when I’m writing a new play or if there is something I’m struggling with in my life.

These visions, which are concocted in the recesses of my mind, might help me come up with a solution to a plot line. They may help me see something in my life that needs prayer. Most of the time they cause me to wake up in a sweat and wonder where those thoughts came from.

Peaceful sleep can heal our bodies, give rest to our minds and even provide us with answers for daily problems. How comforting to know that God watches over us even when we close our eyes each night. Proverbs 3:24 assures us, “If you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.” That should be the best solution to any difficulty sleeping and get rid of those frightful dust bunnies as well.

Lord, there are times when I need you and I don’t even realize it. Thank you for clothing me in your protection 24/7. Thank you for giving me peaceful sleep, even when my mind is swimming with too much thinking and worry. Thank you for giving me time to rejuvenate my body and mind through rest and give me the peace that you are with me in all my hours on this earth. Amen!

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Hmmmm….the other night I drove a vehicle off a ramp into the Mississippi River while texting…and I never even got wet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it amazing how our dreams can accomplish? I wonder about Joseph and Daniel and their dreams and marvel at their ability to translate them. Sleep well, my friend and don’t text while driving!

      Like

Leave a Reply

