The downside of exercise bands

image

For the past five or so years I have been a huge fan of exercise bands. I have a set in the living room, a set in my closet, and another set I keep in my suitcase so I can get a good workout in when I travel and can’t get to a gym.

In fact, I don’t think there is a single piece of exercise equipment or workout gear I have talked about more or recommended more highly than exercise bands for people who travel, people who don’t have much workout space at home, and people who don’t want to or can’t afford to shell out the cash for a good set of weights.

The problem, and only problem, I have experienced with bands in hundreds of uses is that they can break and snap back causing serious eye watering pain and a nasty looking mark. The picture above is me after the door anchor came loose while I was doing lat pull-downs this morning.

Be that as it may, I will still use bands and encourage others to use them as well. But from now on my recommendations will come with a warning to inspect the bands and door anchor before use.

As for me, I’m done with bands for the day and off for a run.

“Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave…”

– 1 Corinthians 9:26-27

Categories: Fitness

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Ha! Now see, I knew exercise was bad for you! 😉

    I do a lot of physical therapy with older people and I think we use those bands too. Colorful, fat rubber bands, made of latex or something? We also use soup cans. Don’t laugh, but soup cans are just about the perfect weight for some of us ladies and they’re readily available in most homes. I imagine we could probably find a way to injure ourselves with them too, but so far no one has.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

