Do you believe you are nothing more than a cosmic accident?

image

In order to not believe in or lack a belief in our creator, you must believe that everything in the universe randomly came from nothing, without cause, without purpose, and without meaning.

If that is true then YOU are nothing more than a cosmic accident who can only look forward to death.

Is there a purpose or do we just die and that’s the end?

If only death stands with open arms at the end of life’s trail, then what is the goal of life?

Is it all for nothing?

Is there no reason for life?

And what of the universe?

Is it utterly pointless?

If its destiny is a cold grave in the recesses of outer space the answer must be, yes—it is pointless. There is no goal no purpose for the universe. The litter of a dead universe will just go on expanding and expanding—forever.

And what of man? Is there no purpose at all for the human race? Or will it simply peter out someday lost in the oblivion of an indifferent universe? The English writer H. G. Wells foresaw such a prospect. In his novel The Time Machine Wells’ time traveler journeys far into the future to discover the destiny of man. All he finds is a dead earth, save for a few lichens and moss, orbiting a gigantic red sun. The only sounds are the rush of the wind and the gentle ripple of the sea.

“Beyond these lifeless sounds,” writes Wells, “the world was silent. Silent? It would be hard to convey the stillness of it. All the sounds of man, the bleating of sheep, the cries of birds, the hum of insects, the stir that makes the background of our lives—all that was over.”

And so Wells’s time traveler returned. But to what?—to merely an earlier point on the purposeless rush toward oblivion.

That seems pretty bleak, noted philosopher Bertrand Russell had more. [emphasis added]

“That Man is the product of causes which had no prevision of the end they were achieving; that his origin, his growth, his hopes and fears, his loves and his beliefs, are but the outcome of accidental collocations of atoms; that no fire, no heroism, no intensity of thought and feeling, can preserve an individual life beyond the grave; that all the labours of the ages, all the devotion, all the inspiration, all the noonday brightness of human genius, are destined to extinction in the vast death of the solar system, and that the whole temple of Man’s achievement must inevitably be buried beneath the debris of a universe in ruins—all these things, if not quite beyond dispute, are yet so nearly certain, that no philosophy which rejects them can hope to stand. Only within the scaffolding of these truths, only on the firm foundation of unyielding despair can the soul’s habitation be safely built.”

Bertrand Russell (from A Free Man’s Worship, 1903)

Our life is not a life of unyielding despair, it has meaning, God gives it meaning, that is evidence that He exists, and that is evidence that He created everything.

He also gives people no excuse to be wrong about Him.

“For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.”

-Romans 1:20

The good news is that, not only does God exist, He loves you and He wants a relationship with you.

You may not know me, but I know everything about you ~ Psalm 139:1

I know when you sit down and when you rise up ~ Psalm 139:2

I am familiar with all your ways ~ Psalm 139:3

Even the very hairs on your head are numbered ~ Matthew 10:29-31

For you were made in my image ~ Genesis 1:27

In me you live and move and have your being ~ Acts 17:28

For you are my offspring ~ Acts 17:28

I knew you even before you were conceived ~ Jeremiah 1:4-5

I chose you when I planned creation ~ Ephesians 1:11-12

You were not a mistake, for all your days are written in my book ~ Psalm 139:15-16

I determined the exact time of your birth and where you would live ~ Acts 17:26

You are fearfully and wonderfully made ~ Psalm 139:14

I knit you together in your mother’s womb ~ Psalm 139:13

And brought you forth on the day you were born ~ Psalm 71:6

I have been misrepresented by those who don’t know me ~ John 8:41-44

I am not distant and angry, but am the complete expression of love ~ 1 John 4:16

And it is my desire to lavish my love on you ~ 1 John 3:1

Simply because you are my child and I am your father ~ 1 John 3:1

I offer you more than your earthly father ever could ~ Matthew 7:11

For I am the perfect father ~ Matthew 5:48

Every good gift that you receive comes from my hand ~ James 1:17

For I am your provider and I meet all your needs ~ Matthew 6:31-33

My plan for your future has always been filled with hope ~ Jeremiah 29:11

Because I love you with an everlasting love ~ Jeremiah 31:3

My thoughts toward you are countless as the sand on the seashore ~ Psalm 139:17-18

And I rejoice over you with singing ~ Zephaniah 3:17

I will never stop doing good to you ~ Jeremiah 32:40

For you are my treasured possession ~ Exodus 19:5

I desire to establish you with all my heart and all my soul ~ Jeremiah 32:41

And I want to show you great and marvelous things ~ Jeremiah 33:3

If you seek me with all your heart, you will find me ~ Deuteronomy 4:29

Delight in me and I will give you the desires of your heart ~ Psalm 37:4

For it is I who gave you those desires ~ Philippians 2:13

I am able to do more for you than you could possibly imagine ~ Ephesians 3:20

For I am your greatest encourager ~ 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17

I am also the Father who comforts you in all your troubles ~ 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

When you are brokenhearted, I am close to you ~ Psalm 34:18

As a shepherd carries a lamb, I have carried you close to my heart ~ Isaiah 40:11

One day I will wipe away every tear from your eyes ~ Revelation 21:3-4

And I’ll take away all the pain you have suffered on this earth ~ Revelation 21:3-4

I am your Father, and I love you even as I love my son, Jesus ~ John 17:23

For in Jesus, my love for you is revealed ~ John 17:26

He is the exact representation of my being ~ Hebrews 1:3

He came to demonstrate that I am for you, not against you ~ Romans 8:31

And to tell you that I am not counting your sins ~ 2 Corinthians 5:18-19

Jesus died so that you and I could be reconciled ~ 2 Corinthians 5:18-19

His death was the ultimate expression of my love for you ~ 1 John 4:10

I gave up everything I loved that I might gain your love ~ Romans 8:31-32

If you receive the gift of my son Jesus, you receive me ~ 1 John 2:23

And nothing will ever separate you from my love again ~ Romans 8:38-39

Come home and I’ll throw the biggest party heaven has ever seen ~ Luke 15:7

I have always been Father, and will always be Father ~ Ephesians 3:14-15

My question is ~ Will you be my child? ~ John 1:12-13

I am waiting for you ~ Luke 15:11-32

image

Categories: Apologetics, Atheism

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

19 replies

  1. I did know that Tim but I don’t think that changes the meaning of this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lead us, Evolution, lead us
    Up the future’s endless stair:
    Chop us, change us, prod us, weed us.
    For stagnation is despair:
    Groping, guessing, yet progressing,
    Lead us nobody knows where.

    Wrong or justice in the present,
    Joy or sorrow, what are they
    While there’s always jam to-morrow,
    While we tread the onward way?
    Never knowing where we’re going,
    We can never go astray.

    To whatever variation
    Our posterity may turn
    Hairy, squashy, or crustacean,
    Bulbous-eyed or square of stern,
    Tusked or toothless, mild or ruthless,
    Towards that unknown god we yearn.

    Ask not if it’s god or devil,
    Brethren, lest your words imply
    Static norms of good and evil
    (As in Plato) throned on high;
    Such scholastic, inelastic,
    Abstract yardsticks we deny.

    Far too long have sages vainly
    Glossed great Nature’s simple text;
    He who runs can read it plainly,
    Goodness = what comes next.
    By evolving, Life is solving
    All the questions we perplexed.

    On then! Value means survival –
    Value. If our progeny
    Spreads and spawns and licks each rival,
    That will prove its deity
    (Far from pleasant, by our present
    Standards, though it well may be).

    C.S. Lewis (1898–1963)

    https://connecthook.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/militant-evolution/

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What we want is irrelevant to what is true. I have never understood the argument that something that sounds unpleasant is evidence that it must be wrong. That being said, we all have different perspectives. Wrapping your mind around that will save you a lot of frustration. For example, I am nowhere near as moved by a future of nothingness as you are. It doesn’t seem difficult to accept at all.

    And we clearly have a different definition of the word “meaning.” I find overwhelming meaning in the chance of existing at all, and with the relationships I have in this brief life. Experiencing life is incredibly meaningful by my definition, and I have no idea why I would be owed more.

    I can only assume that your feelings about the joy of worshiping forever at the feet of your creator has meaning for you, but I do not share those feelings. I do believe you feel that way. But being created only to die and worship my creator eternally feels empty and pointless from my point of view. So the claim that atheism must be wrong because you cannot find purpose in that way of thinking is only evidence that you are unable to appreciate that we are all wired very differently.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Hey Jenny,

      I won’t argue that people think differently, it’s one of the things that makes humanity great.

      That being said, I think you may be on to something with “wired differently.”

      Some people will be called to belief, some won’t.

      Thanks, as always, for stopping by.

      James

      Like

      • Hello James,

        That’s actually got some really stark consequences. By implication, it means that your deity will create people and then not call them to belief. That’s tantamount to creating people that automatically are going to earn damnation for eternity.

        Or did you mean that those people who are not called to belief fail to do so because of some personal flaw (like a sinful nature)?

        Liked by 1 person

  4. In order to not believe in or lack a belief in our creator, you must believe that everything in the universe randomly came from nothing, without cause, without purpose, and without meaning.

    This isn’t actually true. For example, I am a person who neither believes in a Creator nor believes that the universe randomly came from nothing.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Obviously a cosmic accident –
    witness the constant chaotic pelting of our earth by massive fireballs, the randomly-evolved adaptive trait of focusing eyeballs, the constant variations in the orbits of planets resulting in unpredictable seasons, tides, winds, weather and even celestial bodies suddenly veering off into oblivion at the drop of a hat (or slight change in atomic valence). Observe as well the utter cultural relativity of morals, ethics, values, and the genetic uselessness of love and faith.
    How could anyone NOT see this universe as the chaotic cosmic accident it so evidently IS ?
    Anyway I was there to witness its inception so “ha ha ha” and “nanny-nanny boo-boo” to you, sir.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Do you believe you are nothing more than a cosmic accident? | The Raving Ranter: One Woman's Quest To Get To The Heart of Today's Issues
  2. Links To Motivation And Leadership Articles – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

