Making Church a Priority

From Josh Lowrance at Authentic Christianity

image

“And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and food works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.”

– Hebrews 10:24-25

Church is a non-negotiable in my house. If the doors are open, we are there. I don’t ask my kids if they would like to go to church, I tell them they are going to church. When we go out of town we will find a church to attend or we will come home in time for us to attend our home church. The best thing about it is that church is never argued about in my home. My 4 year old loves going to church. She loves the people, she loves the worship, and she loves learning about Jesus. Almost on a daily basis she will ask us if today is a “church day.” Some days we have to drag her out after church is over because she doesn’t want to leave!

Our society seems to be much busier today than it has ever been. We allow ourselves to become so busy with things that church becomes an option more than it is a necessity. Church is no longer a priority for some Christians because of sports, school, work, or anything else that people can come up with that keeps them away from church. When church becomes an option it is no longer an option. You will almost always find something else that you “have” to do that replaces church.

I attend a church that has services three times a week. I understand that not everyone will be able to make every service. However, some Christians find it difficult to even make one service a week, some are good to attend once a month! These Christians then wonder why they struggle in their walk with Christ. These Christians wonder why sin beats them down so much. Don’t get me wrong, church doesn’t save you and there are people who go to church every time the doors are open that will split Hell wide open if they don’t repent. However, there is a direct correlation between spiritual maturity and church attendance. The spiritually immature will almost always find something else that “has to be done” in place of church. The spiritually mature will always make church a priority. They may not be able to make every single weekly service, but church will be a priority.

Christians were never intended to walk out their faith by themselves. God ordained the church as his agent to carry out his work in the earth and he ordained it for Christians to come together in community. The Apostle Paul writes in 1 Corinthians 12:21, “The eye cannot say to the hand, ‘I have no need of you,’ nor again the head to the feet, ‘I have no need of you.” 

Christians who say they don’t need church in order to live out their faith are fooling themselves. We need the church for accountability, for encouragement, and for fellowship. Christians who cut themselves off from the church remove a piece of the body. What happens to a body part that is cut off from the body? It dies. Spiritual death awaits those who don’t make church a priority.

I know this blog post isn’t going to be popular and I might receive some backlash from it. However, this is nothing but the truth and it needs to be stated. If you’re a Christian and church isn’t a priority for you, consider what I’ve stated on this post before you get upset. Reflect in your heart and truly consider why church isn’t a priority for you. Then, if you feel like I am still wrong, let me know.

Categories: Christianity, Contributors

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. Thank you for sharing this! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As my pastor often says, it’s so sad to hear that a “member” of the church is sick or died and nobody in the church knew about it because the persons attendance was so seldom that no one missed the person.

    Like

  3. Which translation is this: “And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and food works…”? 🙂

    Reminds me of a minister friend I used to have lunch with, who always quoted Paul: “I buffet (pronounced buh-FAY) my body…” (I Cor. 9:27, NAS).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post. Words that are very true. I would like to share this post, with your permission.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have addressed important topics. I would also add that as well as attending a church, it is very important that we BE the church, and ask God which garden He wants to plant us in, then stay there and grow.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How well I remember being a kid on ‘drugs’!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Making Church a Priority | A Tale Of A T-Rex

Leave a Reply

