SIN LEADS TO GUILT

born-in-sin-Psalm-51-5Along with sin comes guilt, which easily gnaws away at our faith and our relationship with God. Fortunately God loves His creation and has given us a way out.   If we acknowledge our sin and ask for forgiveness, He will grant it to us with love.

When a child says he’s sorry, a loving parent usually wont turn that child away. God isn’t an average parent. He’s far superior to any that walk this earth, so how much greater is His love going to be for His children?

He tells us how to come to Him with a penitent heart in Psalm 51. “Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.”

Heavenly Father, I cannot comprehend your love and patience with me. All I know is that without you I’m nothing. Help me today to come to you in repentance for all my sinful ways and to know in confidence that you will forgive me, in Jesus name.  Amen!

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 replies

  1. Good point Kathy. Guilt will eat us alive if all we do is dwell in it on a long term basis. It will make us doubt our relationship with God and be a poor servant.

    On the other hand, a little conviction over our sin never hurt. If we don’t feel that, we should be concerned.

    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well said. So much of our troubles in the world come from pride and pride is almost always busy walling off shame. Shame is that guilt that got toxic. Sin is really harmful to us, it rots our souls and makes us miserable,even when we don’t realize it at first.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kathy,

    Sad that guilt cripples believers, it really is. My favorite verse on this is Galatians 5:1

    “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

    Freedom does not mean those who are in Christ should be burdened or shamed by anything, including guilt.

    This is James, btw, having trouble logging in for some reason 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for linking to my post. I appreciate your encouragement.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. SIN LEADS TO GUILT | The Raving Ranter: One Woman's Quest To Get To The Heart of Today's Issues

Leave a Reply

