Do you really know the Lord?

image

 

“Thus says the Lord:

“Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom,

let not the mighty man boast in his might,

let not the rich man boast in his riches,

but let him who boasts boast in this,

that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth.

For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.””

‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭9:23-24‬ ‭ESV‬‬

We may not strut about declaring how wise, how strong, or even how rich we are, yet to some extent we place our confidence in these things. In the chapters preciding the above text, Jeremiah was prophesying for the Lord about the many sins of the Israelites. We would do well to learn from their failings.

What do you know more intimately: the battles of the World War II or the ways in which God distributes mercy and justice?

Which is more urgent to you: acquiring possessions/status/wealth or making time to help others?

How much time do you spend at the gym versus meditating and reading the scriptures?

I was in a discussion with one of my readers the other day about the importance of daily reading. We don’t study the Bible simply to know all the nitty gritty details. We read and explore it because we want to know the Lord. In addition to that, when we fill our hearts and minds with the Word, we give the Spirit more opportunity to work through us to bear the fruit of the Spirit.

I want to encourage you to make Bible reading part of your daily routine. This is not so you can be “more righteous” than that guy over there, nor is it for the purpose of being academically wise. Read the Word of God so that you can come to know God.

One last thought on this:

Do you know your spouse better today than you did the day you were married? I sure hope so! Just because you have chosen to follow the Lord, does not mean you’ve gotten to know Him.

It takes time and effort to really know your spouse. I know things about my spouse today that I really didn’t know 10 years ago when we said our vows. It’s like opening a present and finding another layer of paper. You get through that paper to find a beautiful box. You open that box to find delicate and shimmery tissue paper. All the time you keep learning all the layers that make that person who they are. We continue to discover. Why do we take that time and effort? Because we’ve chosen to love them and we want that love to deepen.

So it is with God.

The more we read and meditate (or ponder) on His Word, the more we will understand about His nature and we will want to be more like Him. We will have more of God and less of self.

Seek the Lord while you have breath. We only have today, and only this moment. Make the most of your time, because time is passing rapidly.

Categories: Christianity, Contributors

Tags: , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. I love this. Sometimes in my haste to write my daily blog I simply look for a pertinent passage that will support what I’m saying without really reading it in context. I have to admit, it’s much better to get the full picture. Thanks for another great post and reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Elihu's Corner and commented:
    Today, I am posting at the Isaiah 53:5 project. A big thank you to the blog’s owner, James, for giving me and many other bloggers the opportunity to contribute on his blog.

    Like

  3. I like this, well said!

    I understand what you mean here, “How much time do you spend at the gym versus meditating and reading the scriptures?,” but something I’ve been learning lately, we can do both at the same time. Sometimes walking and praying is a good way to focus our attention on God and sometimes working out and meditating works too. In the olden days people would walk and sing psalms.

    I’m really not sure why, but I tend to view both exercise and mediating as boring, but when I do manage to combine the two, they actually become fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I absolutely agree! And thank you for clarifying this point. 😀 I usually have my best “meditation moments” while walking.

      It was difficult to word my thought in an all-expressive way. Unfortunately, Some people become so obsessed with physique that they forget everything else.

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Do you really know the Lord? | Talmidimblogging
  2. Do you really know the Lord? | StopAndPrayTV
  3. My Article Read (1-14-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

