The Corinthian Challenge | Part 3

 

imgres.jpg

Father, we worship You and give You all the glory and honor that is due to Your Holy Name. Father, we thank You that Your Word is absolute truth, has all authority, and is the Yes and Amen over any opinions that man may have about who You are or whose we are.

Father, we thank You, for in the beginning, You created us male and female, and in creating us male and female, You gave us the give of procreation by intimate mean through the confines of marriage.

Father, we thank You as women, for our spouses, and in our heart of hearts, Father, we know that we know our spouses love us as Christ loves the Church, for we are co-equal heirs together by Your grace through faith in Christ Jesus, who is our Lord, God, Master and Savior above all.

Father, the male spouse does have the authority as a spiritual covering over the female spouse, but Your Word does tell us that we are to submit to one another in the fear of who You are, and if something is not right then we both have a right to speak up to say so (See Ephesians 5:21).

Father, it is not good to be unequally yoked, and we pray that by Your grace that any spouses who need Jesus to become their Lord and Savior will receive Him, and we thank You, Father, that You will do a quick work in their hearts.

Father, we are asking for wisdom, and for the revelatory knowledge we need to for our allotted portion of understanding, for if the unsaved spouse decides to divorce the saved spouse, it is permitted.

And the saved spouse may remarry, providing that neither were saved before they got married, because he or she was not equally yoked together to begin with when it comes to salvation.

Father, help us to be sensitive one to another. Help us Father to love one another as Christ first loved us, and let us do all things according as our conscience would have us to do.

Father, help us to walk humbly before You as opposed to lording any authority over anyone, for it is Christ alone who gives us authority in His Name (See Luke 10:19).

Father, help us to run our race that we may obtain the imperishable crown of eternal life through faith in Christ Jesus, and help us to discipline our fleshy appetites by bringing them under subjection to Your Word unless, we ourselves should become disqualified.

Father, we thank You that there is no temptation overtaken us except that which is common to man, for You are faithful Father to deliver us from them all, thereby, making a way of escape for us to stand our ground.

Now, Father, we pray that we may pursue peace with all men and with holiness, for without which we will not see You, for You another and glory we pray, in Jesus’ Name, Amen (See Hebrews 12:14).

The above message was adapted from the First Book of Corinthians, Chapters 7 – 10, in conjunction with:  the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson

 

 

 

 

Categories: Contributors

Tags: ,

19 replies

  1. Reblogged this on Uniquely Designed Individuals and commented:

    Pauline wrote: Father, we thank You that there is no temptation overtaken us except that which is common to man, for You are faithful Father to deliver us from them all, thereby, making a way of escape for us to stand our ground.”

    “Now, Father, we pray that we may pursue peace with all men and with holiness, for without which we will not see You, for You another and glory we pray, in Jesus’ Name, Amen (See Hebrews 12:14).”

    Like

  2. I am just curious where you turn to for scriptural backing for this point: “And the saved spouse may remarry, providing that neither were saved before they got married, because he or she was not equally yoked together to begin with when it comes to salvation.” Thanks for your article and your website looks fantastic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Greetings and thank your question and encouragement … Read 1 Corinthians 7:10 -11with Mark 10:6-12 and Matthew 5:32 … I also studied through others who have taught on this subject … but I also know a couple who hold a prominent position within the Church who were divorced and remarried, but I have chosen to leave that with God … if I need to be corrected, then by all means I am willing to learn more … I will remove that statemnt from the article rather … God bless you 🙂

      Like

      • I appreciate your willingness to wrestle with such a complicated subject. From my study Jesus gives marital unfaithfulness as a legitimate reason for divorce and Paul adds that a Christian who had remained married but has been deserted is free to remarry. Beyond these two, I wrestle with how to respond. God bless you as well! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you so much for your input … My present husband and I were not saved when we met …. we were divorced according to the laws of the land, so whether we had remarried or not, we did not accept Jesus into our hearts until long after we had divorced which meant that we were going to spend eternity in hell … However, adultery is abuse and I agree with what you are saying, but praise be to God that I and my husband were saved first before remarrying, and we both agree this is for life until death do us part, and, glory to God our salvation is assured … God bless you 🙂

          Like

    • Greetings and thank your question and encouragement … Read 1 Corinthians 7:10 -11with Mark 10:6-12 and Matthew 5:32 … I also studied through others who have taught on this subject … but I also know a couple who hold a prominent position within the Church who were divorced and remarried, but I have chosen to leave that with God … if I need to be corrected, then by all means I am willing to learn more … I will remove that statement from the article rather … God bless you 🙂

      Like

  3. Hey Pauline

    I have been just sort of peering at this post for a day or two to kind of see what would transpire. I know there are many variations of thought on how people believe The Bible teaches about divorce. I won’t every get in the business of debating them with anyone. I know it clearly teaches divorce outside of strict parameters is a sin, and to remarry after divorce not under those conditions is adultery. That seems clear.

    This, however, is very personal to me. Both my wife and I are products of divorce. I was still lost when I divorced, she was not. She actually met the Biblical standard for divorce from her husband. I did not. My wife just wanted to be divorced and I did not fight about it. So, I won’t be tossing any stones at anybody. Some have said I am committing adultery, some say not because I was lost and didn’t know any better. I have even been told I should seek to reconcile with my first wife. Yeah, that’s smart, solve the sin of divorce by doing it again?

    Bottom line is this, God has forgiven me of it. Period.

    One another note. There is no doubt God put my wife and I together, because together we are marching forward serving the Lord. We even raised a young man who has been called to preach the Gospel and is in Seminary now. How’s that for God making something good out of the messes people make?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Wally, you and your wife are honorable before God and provision is made through His blood covenant … my husband and I were both lost and divorced, we met then received Jesus and got married in that order … I even know two prominent members of the Body of Christ who were saved, divorced and remarried … and the rest stays with God …

      Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you Wally and you’ve made some great points.

      Of course the Bible is clear on divorce but if people, even Christians, lived their lives exactly as the Bible says we should, divorce wouldn’t be near the problem is today.

      I never fault anyone for getting a divorce because I know they will be forgiven even if they are professing Christians.

      James

      Liked by 2 people

      • I agree James. I would be the first to say what I did was sin in the eyes of God. He, of course would have preferred that I came to know Him and have led my family to Him as well and still been in that marriage. But, I did not, and He gives us the ability to make choices even bad ones. As you said, He forgives. He can also use anything, even the bad, to His end.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you 🙂 Hope you are having a spectacular new year thus far 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. My Article Read (1-4-2016) (1-6-2016) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

