A Sharp Tongue-A Contolled Tongue Shows Maturity

Seen On a Church Sign

sharp tongue

James 3:2

For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body

As I was preparing this Devotional, I received in my Blog feed a wonderful poem written by blogger Gloryteller. Rather than write anything on this issue today, I am including his poem as a powerful illustration of words, the tongue, and their proper role in the lives of mature Christian believers.

A Farmer of Words

I want to be a farmer of words
I want to nurture words
I want to plant them in good soil
Cultivate them
Grow them until mature
Make them fruitful
Pick them and harvest them
Squeeze out their nutritious juices
Prepare them deliciously
Give them to those in need of
A good word

I want to begin a culture of
Word husbandry.

Categories: Christianity, Contributors

5 replies

  1. Reblogged this on My Daily Musing and commented:
    I love the words “A Farmer Of Words”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It does capture the spirit of the verse. I like the imagery of cultivating our words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

