IT’S NOT MY FAULT

 

b6572e28242e28675741224015c86856

Originally posted by atimetoshare.me by Kathy Boecher on 12/29/14

We have become a generation of blame gamers.  Blaming someone else for our actions isn’t new, but it seems to be making a huge comeback.  I used to have a computer that would exclaim, “It’s not my fault” whenever I made a mistake.  I hated that machine and was glad to say goodbye to it.

We don’t like being accused of being wrong.  It makes us nervous and extremely uncomfortable – especially if the accusation is correct. It’s much easier to pass the buck to someone else.

One of the most basic rules in the Bible was given by Jesus during His ministry.  It’s the Golden Rule.  I don’t think it’s being taught much in our homes much anymore.  I know it probably isn’t taught in  public schools, because it wouldn’t be politically correct to teach anything Biblical.

However, it is something that should begin at home. Children learn first from their parents, siblings and extended family.  If they see people around them blaming others for their mistakes – or for things they do – or for the way they treat others, that’s how they’ll behave.  Add to that all the influences of their peers when they venture into the world and it will naturally take off from there.

I’s time for all of us to own up to our mistakes and ask for forgiveness.  Hey, that sounds like repentance.  When we realize that repentance leads to forgiveness, isn’t that better than feeling guilty?

I blame you,

You blame someone else,

They blame another

and eventually it comes back to me.

Maybe it would save a lot of time and trouble

If I took responsibility in the first place.

Thank God He looks beyond our imperfections because of the One who took all the blame for us – Jesus.

Categories: Christianity, Contributors, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. Good message! I actually never thought about it that way but our lack of accountability blocks repentance and in effect really hurts our relationship with God. Jesus loves us beyond our limitations and faults. If we confess our sins, He’s faithful to forgive us and cleanse us of all unrighteousness. It baffles me why we (myself included) don’t run to that scripture every time we make a blunder. It’s a both comforting and empowering revelation!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I learned long ago that it is much easier to take blame for my wrong doing and get it over with than to try and fabricate a story that I will eventually forget.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a very awesome article. Thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

