God’s message is one of hope, not judgement

The Falling Plates

image

From Power to Change

If you’ve always thought that the story of God is a story of judgment and rules and condemnation, I have really great news.

You’ve been hearing the story wrong. The Bible is a love song and it was written for you.

If you’re ready to follow Jesus, simply use your own words to do the following:

1. Tell God that you are sorry for your sins – the ways you have hurt or ignored Him.

2. Acknowledge that Jesus lived and died to pay the consequences of your selfishness.

3. Rejoice that Jesus rose from the dead to enter eternal life and to offer it to you too!

4. Finally, ask Jesus to take control of your life and to fill you in your hunger so that you can go and love others.

Categories: Apologetics, Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. You caught me at, “the Bible is a love song!” I knew right then, a couple of sentences into the “—Story of Judgment” that the Holy Spirit wanted me to follow your writing from time to time! I’m an avid reader and I try to make time to not just write and study, but to read from others within the Body of Christ as well! Thank you so much for stopping by my new blog! I’ve had websites and forums before but a little over a year ago I had to let go of my first WP Blog due to health and computer problems. But, the Lord spoke to me to get back in there and spread His Word and there have been many, many confirmations that I am right where I need to be and your blog is another!
    When people question the Bible and think it is meant to show a harsh, unmoving, commandment-based task master, I love to direct them to what I like to tell them is the “condensed” version of the Bible, then I share with them Matthew 22:37 Jesus said to him,” ‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’
    38 “This is the first and great commandment.
    39 “And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’
    40 “On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”
    On these two commandments hang ALL the Law and the Prophets!! That gives quite a different picture to all of the stories from Genesis to Malachi and even includes Matthew through Revelation! EVERYTHING, all the stories, commandments, laws, parables, analogies, histories, everything is encompassed in those TWO Commandments!
    But, —- that is why the Word says that is takes spiritual discernment to recognize and realize this truth! That is why the Word of God IS LIVING and POWERFUL. The Word truly IS embodied in Christ Jesus!
    I could go on and on and too many times I do!! Anyway, again, thanks for stopping by; it was ordained of the Lord and thus I will follow your writings as the Lord directs. I usually spend at least one day a week just reading blogs I follow as well as from time to time as my schedule permits. I look forward to more teachings and in the meantime, I pray sincerely, God richly and graciously bless you as you serve (minister) Him as well as all those He sends through your blog!!

    Like

  2. the bible is a love letter – well said – :0 ❤ and nice video – have a great day

    Like

  3. Jesus said “Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but the one who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.” John 3:18. Doesn’t that mean that the story of God is about judgment AND love? Law AND grace? Bad news and good news?

    It’s a nice video, but does it minimize sin if it communicates that sin is just ‘selfisnness’? Does our sin ‘hurt’ God, or does it anger Him? Doesn’t scripture say that God is ANGRY with the wicked every day? (Psalm 7:11) Aren’t we ‘by nature children of wrath’? (Eph 2)

    I’m sorry but I needed to do a Paul Harvey with some questions?

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. God’s Message Is One Of Hope, Not Judgment | NightWatch

Leave a Reply

