All I want for Christmas is the end of me

Please induldge me for a minute and read the lyrics to one of my favorite songs.

image

“End of Me”

Building 429

I was the one to call the shots

Dream my dreams hard and slow

Answered only to my self

Never giving up control

Until the one day that brought me to my knees

And I would never be the same

Once upon a time the story goes

I laid it all down and let it go

To lose it all, to lose it all

It took a step of faith to say goodbye

And everything I had I left behind

To find true life

Well all I longed for I found finally

At the end of me

And now are gone those wasted days

The selfish soul the emptiness

Love had dimly been replaced

But that old life is laid to rest

And now the new me is stronger day by day

And I will never be the same

Once upon a time the story goes

I laid it all down and let it go

To lose it all, just to lose it all

I took a step of faith and said goodbye

And everything I had I left behind

To find true life

Well all I longed for I found finally

At the end of me

And like an answer to a prayer

Jesus you were there

Calling me to live, to die

To give to gain

And I’ll never be the same

Once upon a time the story goes

I laid it all down and let it go

To lose it all, to lose it all

I took a step of faith and said goodbye

And everything I had I left behind

To find true life

Well all I longed for I found finally

At the end of me

It’s the end of me

Like most American husbands, I have a wife who has been asking me what I want for Christmas.

Probably unlike most American husbands however, I never, whether it’s Christmas, my birthday, or our anniversary, really have a good answer because there is honestly nothing I want or need.

Not taking my standard, “I don’t really know what I want” answer, my wife told me I had to give her at least one idea.

So, after thinking about it all morning, I have yet to come up with something that can be wrapped up and placed under a tree to be opened on Christmas morning.

Fact is, and I’m not sure how I am going to break the news to my wife, all I really want to do this Christmas is to give.

And to give what’s left of me to God.

As the song says, the only way I can find all I’ve ever longed for is to lose all I’ve ever had.

So this Christmas, although my wife will eventually think of a gift I can hold in my hand, I want to do nothing but give.

To give to God everything I have been stubbornly holding on to so I can finally reach the end of me.

All my distractions

All my frustrations

All my anger

All my negativity

All my impatience

All my cares

All my worries

All my burdens

All my grief

All my doubts

All my plans

And all of everything I love about the world

Dear Lord,

This Christmas, in the coming year, and for the rest of my days.

I will give you my hands to do Your work.

I will give You my feet to go Your way.

I will give You my eyes to see as You see.

I will give You my tongue to speak Your words.

I will give You my mind that You may think in me.

I will give You my spirit that You may pray in me.

Above all Lord, I will give You my heart that You may love in me.

I will give You my whole self, Lord.

All of me, to the end of me, until it is only You who lives, works, and prays in me.

Amen.

Categories: Christianity

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 replies

  1. Absolutely love this post. God bless you and yours and remember, don’t take it back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brave prayers…
    Dangerous prayers, some would say….
    Beautiful prayers….
    Be blessed 🙂
    Ann

    Liked by 1 person

  3. super post…and nice prayer….. ….Jesus really love this prayer….thanks for your amazing post..Jesus bless you..ADVANCE CHRISTMAS WISHES TO YOU.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a wonderful post! I really, really appreciate your thoughts…the joy of giving is great. This post somewhat reminds me of the great Christmas story “The Gift of Magi” by O Henry… 🙂

    Like

  5. Lord, let me live those thoughts and words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

