Would you deny Christ to save your life?

I realize I am a little late to the party on this but…

Dr. Ben Carson recently lit up social media with a simple response to the mass shooting in Oregon where witnesses say nine people were murdered for being Christians.

In posts on both Facebook and Twitter Carson appears in a picture holding up a sign reading “I Am A Christian” and urged his followers on both social media platforms to change their Facebook profile picture or Twitter avatar to a picture reading #IAmAChristian.

The response to this, both positive and negative, has been overwhelming but what really stood out to me was this.

image

I am not sure who Armardo Hall is but there is a lot of truth in those words.

Just for a second, imagine watching someone taking a bullet in the head because of their faith, then being asked about yours. What would you do?

Without minimizing a tragedy or appearing like I am making light of a very serious situation, I have actually thought long and hard over the years about what I would do if I ever found myself face to face with a crazed gunman, regardless of what he was demanding from me or asking of me.

Would I break down and cower in fear, begging for my life to be spared?

Would I disarm him as I have quickly and effectively done with fake guns in karate class hundreds of times?

Would I retrieve my own gun and shoot him before he shoots me?

Would I somehow know exactly what to say to make him put down his gun and surrender peacefully?

Fact is, I don’t know and can’t possibly know what I would do unless I find myself in such a situation so every one of my thoughts on the matter involve pure speculation. Every one of my thoughts, that is, except for one. I will never never deny the savior who was tortured and died to redeem me just so I can draw a few more breaths on Earth.

But why? Sounds counterintuitive to go against our human insinct to survive, doesn’t it? Sounds especially counterintuitive when all we have to do to save ourselves is something we have been conditioned to do almost without thought or very often without remorse since we learned to speak, doesn’t it?

But denying your savior, even if it may mean certain death, isn’t the same as: Did you eat that cookie? Were you jumping on the bed? Did you do your homework? Does this make my butt look big? Where were you last night? Do you love her? Why are you late? Where are those expense reports I asked for? Or; is everything on this tax form true and accurate to the best of your knowledge?

God tells us in 1 Peter 1:3-5, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.”

What those verses mean is that God has promised us an incorruptible inheritance, that is undefiled and fadeth not way, reserved in heaven for you.

He further promised absolute assurance to the believer that it is God, not lying to save ourselves, who will preserve us by His power until the day we will be with him.

If you understand those things, you must also understand that you have to live your life unashamed of your Savior, Lord, and God, no matter who asks and no matter what your answer will cost you.

The Apostle Paul proclaimed in Romans 1:16, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek. For therein is the righteousness of God revealed from faith to faith: as it is written, The just shall live by faith.”

Think Paul was saying we are to live by faith but only when it’s convenient and safe?

The obvious exit question here is this. If you are a Christian, would you deny your savior at gunpoint?

Categories: Christianity, Misc.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

26 replies

  1. I can’t know for sure what I would do either but I like to think I would declare proudly that I was a Christian even if it meant I would die. The thought of denying Jesus just to save myself actually makes me feel a little bit sick to my stomach.

    To put this into perspective, people need to realize that we aren’t guaranteed another year, month, day, or even hour on this Earth anyway. How bad would it be to deny Christ then be killed in a car accident on the way home?

    Mark

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good post and a better question

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wasn’t Ben Carson’s hashtag awesome and timely? I loved that.

    Would I deny Christ? I’d love to tell you I’m big and bad and brave so course I wouldn’t, but in truth I don’t know. I identify a bit with the Apostle Peter, both in my tendency to lop of someone’s ear in haste…and to deny Christ to save my own skin.

    I’m reminded however, that Sarah once lied for her husband and claimed him as her brother so they wouldn’t get killed. So, I just don’t know? I have had to claim Christ when people were yelling at me however, so I do know that denying Him is serious business. Also, I am quite grateful, every single day, that the most trouble I ever face is a few harsh words. That I can handle 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dr. Carson’s hashtag was both great and timely.

      I think, regardless of what most of us say, we are all unsure of exactly what we would do if we ever find ourselves in such a horrible situation and that’s not entirely a bad thing.

      I think more people should prepare for what they would do and be prepared to say clearly that they would absolutely not deny their savior under any circumstances. If we are threatened with death and we do cave it will be because we are human and fallible, not weak in spirit.

      I had a conversation with a Christian over the weekend who told me he would deny Christ in a second if someone pointed a gun at him because to not do so would be stupid. I found the fact that a Christian would say such a thing with such candor shocking.

      I guess what I’m trying to say here is doubting if you will be able to declare your faith when facing death is much different than saying you won’t even try.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “I had a conversation with a Christian over the weekend who told me he would deny Christ in a second if someone pointed a gun at him because to not do so would be stupid.”

        I hear you. There are many, many much safer situations where following Christ might require one to “be stupid,” at least in sense that there’s going to be no pay-off there, in fact it may cost you. I grow concerned sometimes because we are comfortable here in the Western world, complacent, and sometimes we forget that, we forget that the very nature of our faith came with a high price paid on our behalf.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. In that situation, why would you deny being Christian?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have thought about this question many times in the past, but in my mind, the situation always took place in another, far-away country, and not here at home. Lately I’ve been thinking about it a lot more.
    Truth be told, on my own, I doubt I could be so brave. Yet that’s the cool thing about being a Christian: I don’t have to rely on my cowardly self. With God’s strength and courage, I sincerely hope and believe that I could stand up and profess Him as my savior one more time. Besides, if I don’t, I have eternal damnation hanging over my head (Matthew 10:33), which to me seems far worse than a bullet to the chest.

    Like

  6. #IAmAChristian that is #notashamedofthegospel.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I would tell them I am an a spaceman and kick them in the goolies. Seriously I do not think an Islamic State criminal would give a toss what religion you were unless of course you could quote passages from the Koran, however this would not be any guarantee you kept your life.

    I know one thing, life is the most important thing we all have and it must be protected at all costs and no matter what ideology you believe in, therefore I would lie my head off (excuse the pun) to keep it on my shoulders. If you bring on your death because you freely divulged to a criminal your religion or political persuasion you are committing suicide and that is a moralistic as well as a mental health issue.

    Like

  8. Great post!

    The funny thing is, I have always thought that it would be easier to die for Christ than to live for Him. What I mean is, how many times do we fail to speak up when we are in a group denouncing Christ? How many times do we avoid “getting involved” with certain discussions or situations because we know we will be verbally assaulted? How many times do we hide our Christianity to avoid being ostracized.

    I have always hoped and prayed for the courage to die for Christ if faced with that situation. I also need to be courageous to live for Him until the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I do not deny being a Christian but I do deny the stereotypes of being one. That’s what I deny. I will not like to be associated of what the world thinks is a Christian, the only difference is a person who goes to religious service once a week. Yet, they drink, curse, like any unbeliever and barely touch their Bible. I deny that!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Would you deny Christ to save your life? | The Best of Belief
  2. Would you deny Christ to save your life? | Ryan Mijumbi's Blog

Leave a Reply

